The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater

“Even if Blue hadn’t been told her true love would die if she kissed him, she would stay away from boys.  Especially the ones from the local private school.  Known as Raven Boys, they only mean trouble.

But this is the year that everything will change for Blue.

This is the year that she will be drawn into the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys.  And the year Blue will discover that magic does exist.

This is the year she will fall in love.”

I had heard lots of good things about this book and, having enjoyed previous books by this author, I was really looking forward to reading it.

I’m pleased to say that I wasn’t disappointed because I loved this story!  Right from the very beginning I was hooked, the first sentence was brilliant:

“Blue Sargent had forgotten how many times she’d been told that she would kill her true love.” 

This completely intrigued me, my mind was coming up with all sorts of reasons for her words and I couldn’t wait to read on.  It turned out that Blue came from a family of clairvoyants who had all predicted the same thing about her but I don’t think she truly believed it.

Blue’s aunt came to visit and there seemed something a little bit strange about her (other than her psychic abilities, obviously), I couldn’t quite figure out what it was that gave me that feeling but was sure that it would be revealed eventually.

Blue experienced an eerie encounter on St Mark’s eve and it seemed to be a definite turning point in her life, it made her look differently at things and question her surroundings.  There was a great moment later on when she unleashed her rebellious side and I really enjoyed that because I felt like she was becoming her own person at last.

The Raven Boys themselves were a strange group of complex characters, they all had complicated backgrounds and it took me a while to feel like I really understood them.  A strange twist later on in the book made me look at one of the boys in a very different way.

The romantic side of the story was not what, or with whom I had originally expected, it also felt very natural and not rushed in any way, this was a pleasant surprise!

It became very tense towards the end with lies being unearthed and discoveries being made, this took me right up to the very last sentence which was also fantastic and extremely intriguing – I have a feeling that an even more exciting journey lies ahead and I can’t wait to join them all on it!

This was a wonderful, magical story with a sinister edge.

The Raven Boys can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Maggie Stiefvater visit her website here.


Lament & Ballad – Maggie Stiefvater


I bought these books because I had enjoyed Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver series and liked the idea of a faerie story, something I hadn’t yet read about.

The first book Lament is about a girl called Dee who discovers she can see faeries (also known as a cloverhand) when a mystery boy appears in her life, his name is Luke and Dee finds herself very attracted to him from the start.  There is a lot more to Luke than meets the eye and although Luke is unable to tell her what he really is she eventually finds out.  Dee also has a best friend called James who is clearly in love with her but she has no idea how he feels.  There are many dangerous twists and turns in the story and a lovely musical element with Dee, James and Luke all being very talented musicians.  The end of this story sees Dee having to make a very difficult choice, I think the choice she made was definitely the right one!

In Ballad the story follows James as he attends a school for people with great musical talents, what he won’t admit to everyone is that he only enrolled because Dee did.  He still has strong feelings for her but events in this story make him question those feelings and he ends up with an unlikely and perhaps dangerous love interest.  There was also a  difficult choice to be made at the end of this book and again I feel the right choice was made.  This book has just as much magical dangerous moments as the first and that kept me reading until I had finished it.

There were moments in both of these books when I had no idea what was going on but that was definitely part of the attraction – I had to read on to find out what things meant and of course what was going to happen next.  I would have liked to have had a bit more information about what was now going on with Dee and Luke in this book but maybe that just added to the overall mysterious feel of it.

Reading both of these books felt magical, dangerous, mysterious and even weird in some places.  I would love to know what happens to these characters next so I’m looking forward to the final installment.

Forever – Maggie Stiefvater

This book is the finale to Shiver and Linger.  The series is based around a pack of werewolves, a boy/wolf called Sam and a girl/wolf called Grace.

I loved the romance and danger in this series and the characters were captivating, making me want the best for them all.  The books have a dark feel to them and a hint of sadness which meant that I cried at least once whilst reading each book.  Cole and Isabel were two characters that I wasn’t sure about when they were first introduced but I soon came to love them as much as the others.

I was a little disappointed with the ending of this final book, if I hadn’t known it was the last book I would have been sure there would be another book to follow.  It left me with lots of questions about what happens next!

A fab series though and definitely one for those who love supernatural fiction.