Kitty’s Countryside Dream by Christie Barlow

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 25 February 2016

“New home. New life. New beginning. Love affairs can blossom in the most unlikely places . . .

When Kitty inherits Bluebell Lodge from her grandmother, a farm in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside, it’s time for fresh air and a fresh start. Up to her elbows in chickens and ponies, Kitty soon realises there’s an awful lot to learn about farming. Still, at least the locals seem friendly, not least her handsome neighbour Tom…

But just as Kitty is beginning to find her feet, and the possibility of love, the discovery of a long-hidden diary, by a mysterious character called Violet changes everything. Who is Violet and what is her message for Kitty? As Kitty fills in the lost pieces of her family jigsaw and discovers some shocking revelations, will her countryside dream and blossoming relationship fall to pieces? When it comes to life in the country, nothing is ever quite as it seems …”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the publisher for approving my NetGalley request for this eBook. I’m easily swayed by an attractive cover and this gorgeous specimen called out to me and made me want to read it before I’d even read the description!

Right from the start there was a sense of mystery, of a secret that was almost ready to be revealed but not quite yet.

I loved following Kitty as she began to find her way around her new life. I always think it’d be so exciting yet scary to start your life completely anew like that (not that I’d change my life for the world mind you but it’s still fun to daydream).

There was a gentle romance running through the storyline which built gradually but still managed to hit quite a few bumps along the way.

There were a lot of scenes that I enjoyed but some of my favourites included: a lunch stealing rooster, a bidding war at auction, a scary chicken feeding frenzy and last but certainly not least, journal entries which exposed some intriguing secrets.

I do, however, have one small word of warning for those of you who are sensitive about what you eat (like myself) – reading this book might put you off your favourite chicken dish for a while!

This was an entertaining read filled with revelations of all kinds and characters who were easy to like. For me, it was a 4 star read.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Website | Twitter | Facebook

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com

kate1

2 thoughts on “Kitty’s Countryside Dream by Christie Barlow

Please Leave a Comment

