Summer Nights at The Moonlight Hotel

IMG_1627

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Publication Date: 24 March 2016

“The Moonlight Hotel sits on the shore of England’s best-loved lake, Windermere, exuding vintage glamour.
 
Lauren loves the hotel, for hidden inside its faded walls is the key to her most precious memories. So, along with her best friends, Cate and Emily, she signs up to a new dance class in its gorgeous ballroom. They aren’t going for the men, they’re going for a laugh – although a little romance wouldn’t hurt . . .
 
But then a chain of events off the dance floor puts their friendship to the ultimate test, and makes Lauren question everything she holds dear.”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the publisher for sending me this book to read and share my thoughts. It initially appealed to me because of where the storyline was set – I love the Lake District! Reading about places I’ve actually been gave me a sense of familiarity and enabled me to visualise everything so vividly.

It was easy to become caught up in Lauren’s life. There was a wonderful camaraderie between her group of friends that was endearing (and kind of made me want to join them). Her job as a primary school teacher was hugely entertaining, especially her attraction to fellow teacher, Edwin.

There was a blossoming relationship that I correctly predicted quite early on but the fact that I’d guessed where things were heading didn’t affect my enjoyment of the process one little bit. Every new revelation simply made me smile even wider!

The author’s style of writing was light and humorous which meant that it was really fun to read – I love a book that can make me giggle out loud. It wasn’t all fun and laughter though, there was a touching moment which took me by surprise and brought tears to my eyes. I suddenly found myself looking at things from a completely different perspective.

Another more serious branch of the storyline centered around revenge of a devastating kind. I felt that this was particularly relevant to today’s world of social media and I applaud the author for putting it in the spotlight!

This was an addictive read filled with characters who were easy to take to heart. I can’t give it anything but 5 stars.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Jane Costello was a newspaper journalist before she became an author, working on the Liverpool Echo, the Daily Mail and the Liverpool Daily Post, where she was Editor. Jane’s first novel, Bridesmaids, was an instant bestseller. Her second novel, The Nearly-Weds, won Romantic Comedy of the Year 2010. Jane lives in Liverpool with her husband and three young sons and she is currently working on her next novel.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com

kate1

Please Leave a Comment

