The House of York by Terry Tyler

Publisher: Self Published

Publication Date: 19 October 2015

“Widowed single mum, Lisa Grey, and wealthy businessman, Elias York, are young and madly in love. A recipe for happiness? But Lisa is marrying into a complicated family. Her new sister-in-law doesn’t want to know her. Middle brother Gabriel’s marriage suffers under a cloud of infidelity and gambling debts, while the youngest, Richard, keeps his dark secrets well hidden—and his wife suffers in silence.

Lisa and her mother are bonded by their powerful intuition, but dare not voice their fears about York Towers—or certain members of the family…

Love and loss, abduction, incestuous desires and murderous intent form the basis of this compelling saga in which horrors float just beneath the surface, to bring forth a shocking outcome.”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me this eBook to read and share my thoughts. I have previously read and enjoyed some of Terry’s other books (reviews here) so I was looking forward to this one.

When I found out that this storyline was about a modern-day family but loosely based on events that took place during the War of the Roses, I was intrigued. I think it gave the book an extra twist of reality.

There were parts of Lisa’s life that I could really relate to and I feel this helped me connect to the storyline quicker than normal. In particular was her greatest ambition to be a wife and mother – it’s not often I hear others admit to that (although I’m happy to admit it to anyone who wants to know), even in books! This is something that stands out for me about Terry’s writing, it’s refreshingly honest and easy to read.

The complexities of York family life, and all their vices, were beautifully described and created vivid pictures in my mind. Each character brought something different to the storyline and held my interest completely.

There were some scenes of an uncomfortable nature but, in my opinion, the author handled them carefully and with skill.

A completely unexpected twist towards the end literally left me sat there with my mouth open and goosebumps on my skin.

This was a fascinating read with a fab set of characters who stayed on my mind even when I wasn’t reading! An easy 5 stars from me.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Blog | Twitter | Amazon Author Page

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com

kate1

4 thoughts on “The House of York by Terry Tyler

    1. Thank you, Shaz! Kate, thanks so much for this lovely review ~ what a great start to a Monday morning, made my day already! Am delighted that you enjoyed it, and really appreciate your observation about Lisa. Often, lead women in fiction are the ‘career’ or adventurous type, but I wanted to create a likeable character with much inner strength who had all the traditional female qualities/desires that used to be so much revered, rather than looked down on, and to show the wisdom that can come from this choice of life path, too. That you spotted it pleases me greatly!

      Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Comment

