A Little Sugar, A Lot of Love by Linn B. Halton

ALSALOL

Publisher: Choc Lit

Publication Date: 15 January 2016

Previously released as Sweet Occasions by the author. Revised and edited by Choc Lit December 2015.

“Life isn’t all love and cupcakes …

Katie has had her fair share of bad luck, but when she finally realises her dream of opening a bakery it seems things can only get better.

But the reality of running a business hits Katie hard and whilst her partner, Steve, tries to help she begins to sense that the situation is driving them further apart. Could Katie be set to lose her relationship and her dream job?

Then, one winter’s day, a man walks into her shop – and, in the space of that moment, the course of Katie’s life is changed.

But nobody finds happiness in the blink of an eye. Sometimes it takes two Christmases, three birthdays and a whole lot of cake to get there …”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me this eBook to read and share my honest review. I’m a big fan of Linn’s writing so I couldn’t wait to get stuck in. You can read my reviews of Linn’s previous books here.

An intriguing start pulled me into the storyline quickly, I was curious about the mysterious, dripping wet stranger and wanted to know more. I was also keen to find out more about Katie’s business which sounded yummy, especially to someone who is currently on a diet!

If you’re a regular Me, My Books and I reader you’ll know that I love to read from the male point of view, well this book ticked that box beautifully for me as I was regularly treated to Adam’s thoughts on what was going on around him. I also got to read from the perspective of a few other characters giving me an all round feeling of knowledge (something that doesn’t happen every day) and the sense that I was truly involved in their lives.

The romantic tension was interesting and built up as the storyline progressed, I liked that it kept me guessing throughout. Something else I particularly enjoyed were the unexpected touching moments which highlighted the importance of family and the small things that can mean so much to a person.

For me the writing style created a warm, emotional atmosphere and this made it an absolute pleasure to read. The scenes with Adam and Grace oozed that homely feeling you only get when you’re around the ones you love most in the world. While I’m on the subject of Grace, she was definitely a favourite of mine, she was such a powerful character who genuinely touched my heart with her courage and strength.

The Epilogue was incredible, it actually gave me goosebumps, it just couldn’t have been more perfect for this story.

A Little Sugar, A Lot of Love made me laugh, smile and cry (a lot). A fabulous addition to anyone’s library!

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Website/BlogTwitter | Facebook

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com

kate1

Jera's Jamboree/Talk of the Town
7 thoughts on “A Little Sugar, A Lot of Love by Linn B. Halton

  1. I feel exactly the same way Shaz and Kate! I always feel at home here whenever I visit. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review my books, Kate – it means such a lot and you’ve been a huge support since day one! Lxx

    Liked by 3 people

Please Leave a Comment

