Strictly Between Us by Jane Fallon

IMG_2556

Publisher: Penguin | Michael Joseph

Publication Date: 14 January 2016

Rumours, secrets and lies. It’s all in a day’s work.
Tamsin and her best friend Michelle have been inseparable since they were teenagers. Even now they spend all their time together, along with Patrick, Michelle’s handsome husband.

So when Tamsin hears a rumour that Patrick is having an affair, she is furious. Unwilling to ignore it, Tamsin plots a scheme to catch Patrick in the act, using her assistant Bea as live-bait. It should be fool proof.

After all, Tamsin can trust Bea with anything. From her daily coffee order to fetching her dry-cleaning, writing reports and doing all the filing – Bea does everything with a smile on her face.

Except Tamsin never considered Bea might have her own agenda.
And if she does, then Tamsin really needs to watch her back . . .”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the publisher for sending me this book to read and share my thoughts. I was intrigued by the blurb and couldn’t wait to get stuck in.

I have to say, the blurb didn’t come anywhere close to preparing me for the shocking first chapter, I was so confused! What I was reading was completely unexpected but it definitely caught my attention. My imagination was working overtime and I came up with many theories as to how Tamsin had found herself in that position. Luckily, in chapter two, Tamsin began to explain all.

I adored the conversational style of writing, it made me feel like I was chatting with a friend and on more than one occasion I found myself talking back (my family are now used to the fact that I talk to books so this is completely okay in my world).

Once I was fully updated on how the unexpected had happened, I then wanted to know what was next. This inevitably meant that I was turning the pages into the early hours of the morning, I simply couldn’t stop reading!

As I progressed through the book, everything began to slot into place and an understanding took over. But just when I thought I had it all figured out, along came more shocks as the storyline switched to Bea’s point of view. I think at that point I just gave up trying to predict what would happen.

Tamsin turned out to be quite the detective, and a very funny one at that. I really enjoyed following her crazy spy antics especially when she was joined by an equally funny sidekick.

This was an utterly compelling read, it brought out a whole range of emotions – everything from anger to laughter. I’ll definitely be reading more from this author.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Jane Fallon is the multi-award-winning television producer behind shows such as This Life, Teachers and 20 Things to Do Before You’re 30. Her previous books, Getting Rid of Matthew, Got You Back, Foursome, The Ugly Sister and Skeletons have sold over 710K to date and have been hugely successful bestsellers. Strictly Between Us is her sixth novel. She lives in North London with her long-term partner.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | The Book Depository

kate1

2 thoughts on “Strictly Between Us by Jane Fallon

Please Leave a Comment

