House of Dreams by Fanny Blake

26116650

Publisher: Orion

Publication Date: 5 November 2015

“Only a weekend in Spain – what could possibly go wrong?

At their family hilltop villa, Lucy awaits the arrival of her brother and sister for their mother’s annual birthday party. Although this time, their mother won’t be there.

Struggling at Malaga airport with her fractious four year old, Jo has already lost her case and is dreading arriving without its precious contents.

For Tom, returning to Casa de Sueños stirs up all sorts of memories – then a beautiful face from his past appears . . .

Over one long, hot weekend, past secrets will spill out as three siblings discover more about their family and each other”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the publisher for approving my NetGalley request for this eBook. I previously read, reviewed and enjoyed Women of a Dangerous Age by this author so I was looking forward to reading more from her.

It took me a little while to get into the storyline but once I did, I was hooked! I found myself thinking of the House of Dreams even when I wasn’t reading.

The story follows siblings Jo, Tom and Lucy as they prepare for their mother’s annual birthday party at her house in Spain but this time there’s quite a dramatic difference to the proceedings.

Each character dealt with events in their own way and, as with all families, occasionally there was conflict between them. Who knew coloured stickers could be so controversial!

I particularly enjoyed reading about all the memories each character had from growing up in the house, they were vividly described so I felt like they were taking me with them as they reminisced.

Finding answers was a major theme of the storyline so if you enjoy reading about complicated family relationships and secrets, this is definitely a book for you. It also touched on some sensitive subjects, all of which I thought were beautifully written.

This was an interesting and thought-provoking read that leads you on a journey of discovery and truth.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Website | Twitter | Facebook

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com

kate1

 

6 thoughts on “House of Dreams by Fanny Blake

  1. Oh, I love this sort of thing! Emily Barr did something similar; 20 years ago I wrote a novel like this that all takes place one Christmas day. Might rewrite it for publication next Christmas… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Comment

