Drive Me Crazy by Portia MacIntosh

        Published by Carina in June 2015.

It was supposed to be the trip of a lifetime…

In reality it was a business trip, prettied up as a romantic mini break, but the man behind the wheel was meant to be Candice Hart’s boss and (married but separated, I swear!) lover. Not Danny the new guy!

Not only is Candice faced with a new driver, but the office’s far too handsome hipster expects her to share the cramped space inside his “fully” restored VW Beetle, aka The Love Bug, and put up with his constant opinions about her life…

Before long she is tired of playing the ‘good girl’ and, with Danny’s help, is determined to finally show the world the real Candice Hart!”

MY REVIEW

First of all I’d like to thank the author for sending me this eBook to read and share my honest review. I’m quite a fan of Portia’s writing (you can read my previous reviews here) so I was looking forward to finding out what she had in store for me next!

The author’s familiar, fun writing style captured my attention quickly and really brought the characters to life. I immediately took a liking to Candice which made reading about her situation difficult for me. You know that feeling when it’s so obvious someone is making a mistake but you know they’ll never listen or make a change if you told them that fact – frustrating!

Danny was brilliant, I loved his carefree attitude and confident demeanour. I also loved the way he brought out a different side to Candice, it was clear he annoyed her but she definitely seemed more relaxed around him.

A big bump in the road (sorry, I couldn’t resist) changed things dramatically for Candice, the giant bubble she’d been living in had finally burst. It was a tough time for her but I was pleased it had happened – I admit to a ” yesssss” as the truth came out. I couldn’t wait for the work trip to get underway after this little blip, I had a feeling it was going to be quite a ride!

There were some really funny moments: permanent reminders of a drunken night out, drama at the roadside, a very awkward surprise homecoming, unplanned public nudity and pug smuggling to name just a few.

I think there’s an important lesson to be learnt from this book – never try to change yourself just to please someone else, if a person truly loves you it’ll be for you, not an unrealistically improved version of you.

This was a fun read with lots of laugh out loud moments, another hit from Portia MacIntosh!

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Tumblr | Twitter | Facebook

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk

2 thoughts on “Drive Me Crazy by Portia MacIntosh

Please Leave a Comment

