Author Interview With Joni Parker

Today I’m delighted to welcome Joni Parker to Me, My Books and I for the second time!

orig_27374_013

Although Joni currently lives in Texas, she was born in Chicago, lived in Japan, graduated high school in Phoenix, and got married in New Jersey. Not only was she married to a career Navy sailor, but she also completed 22 years of active duty service in the Navy. After her husband passed away, she returned to the work force until she discovered her love of writing. Her first series, “The Seaward Isle Saga” included 3 books, “The Black Elf of Seaward Isle,” “Tangled Omens,” and “Blood Mission,” as well as a short novella, “The Island Game: The Inside Story of Seaward Isle.” Her latest fantasy novel is called, “Spell Breaker: The Chronicles of Eledon Book One.”

To find out more:

Website/Blog | Facebook | Twitter

Page break

Welcome back Joni,

How did you come up with the title for Spell Breaker: The Chronicles of Eledon Book One?

The term ‘Spell Breaker’ came as I rewrote chapter one for the millionth time. It summarized what Alex had done and anticipated what she was going to do in the rest of the story. The Chronicles of Eledon is the name of the series. Eledon is the name of the world created for Elves by the Mentors after they left Earth. There are four books in this series, and I liked the term chronicle to account for each one.

Who designed the cover and why did you go for that particular design?

The cover was designed by my publisher, Teresa Kennedy and her husband, Andrew Earley. As a matter of fact, they’ve designed all of my covers so far. Teresa thought the cover should depict more action and gave me a choice of two. I chose this one because it caught my eye immediately. The color was bright and I thought if it caught my eye, it will catch others as well. They also designed the back cover for the print version and inserted a copy of a map Andrew did from a rough drawing I’d made. Originally, it was blue and green, but since the overall tone of the cover was yellow, he made it into a sepia tone which gave it an antique feel.

map parchment

How do you decide on names for your characters?

Most of the time, names pop in my head as I create a character. Unfortunately, I’ve had several names that were too close to other characters and had to change them. I’ve used baby name lists to help me or I think about the character’s personality or job to come up with a name. Thankfully, the computer lets me switch out names quickly.

Which characters would you like to meet in person and why?

I would love to meet Lord Odin, the leader of the Elves because he seems so wise and yet, he’s approachable. Also, I’d love to meet Olivia Richards, the journalist. She’s really down to earth and a dedicated journalist. It may sound strange that I don’t want to meet my main character Alex, but she’s my alter ego and we’ve already met.

If you had to write it all over again, would you change anything?

No, I worked hard on this story. Over a year ago, I thought it was ready, but another writer read the first two chapters and let me know that it wasn’t. I rewrote it multiple times since then and took classes on editing and writing to help me figure out what was wrong. I’m satisfied with it now.

What do you hope readers will learn from Spell Breaker: The Chronicles of Eledon Book One?

I hope readers will learn that life involves give and take. Alex’s grandmother expects her to be a lady of Eledon, but Alex wants nothing to do with it. Their unwillingness to compromise led to break in their relationship that they couldn’t overcome.

Can you give us any clues about what is going to happen in the next book?

Alex faces false accusations of being the Blue Witch and a spy for the rebels.

Do you think your writing style has changed since your first book?

My writing style has changed considerably from the first book. When I first started, my writing was in a rut, due to lack of use. I did very little creative writing in my adult years and never realized that all my sentences were structurally similar and my vocabulary limited. Now, I use more complex sentences and keep a Thesaurus beside me all the time. Overall, I feel like my writing is more fluid and interesting, but I’m still working on it.

Are there any occupational hazards to being an author?

There are several hazards, mostly related to sitting and staring at the computer screen for long periods of times. My hands get tired from typing, my eyes are strained, and my back hurts. I schedule routine times for exercise to counter it and get up from my computer at least once an hour.

FUN QUESTIONS

Milk, white or dark chocolate?

Milk, not good for those of us lactose intolerant

Listener or talker?

Listener. Let others to the talking.

Laptop, desktop or tablet?

Desktop. I have two and a laptop. I’ve never used a tablet to write.

Early or late?

Early. With my military background, I’m always 15 minutes early.

Pen or pencil?

Pen. I don’t have to sharpen it.

Any last words for your readers?

I hope you enjoy Spell Breaker as much as I did writing it.

Thank you so much for returning to my blog Joni, it was a pleasure to interview you again. I particularly enjoyed reading about the cover and why you chose that design!

Page break Now check out the book:

Spell Breaker 1

After a thousand years, Lady Alexin (Alex) Dumwalt breaks the spell around Seaward Isle, a ring of storms so powerful no one could leave the island.  She joins the exodus of Elves, Dwarves, and mortals to Eledon, the World of the Elves on the other side of the entry point. 

But Alex faces a difficult decision.  Her Water Elf grandmother expects her to stay in Eledon, but Alex was born and raised as a mortal.  Her mixed blood, Elf and mortal, means that she must choose between staying in Eledon or following the other mortals who will soon leave for the mortal world through a special entry point created for them. 

What will she do?”

“Spell Breaker” is currently only available on Amazon. You can get it on Kindle Unlimited for 90 days as a promotion.

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com

2 thoughts on “Author Interview With Joni Parker

Please Leave a Comment

