The Definition of Icing by Aven Ellis

The Definition of Icing
Published in May 2015.

“Kenley Hunter finally has everything sorted out. Fresh from studying chocolate making in Europe, she’s gambling everything on her new business, Confection Consultations.
All Kenley wants in life is people to take her seriously, to see the person on the inside rather than the blond beauty on the outside. While pursuing her passion of chocolate, Kenley discovered people seek her knowledge. They see past the exterior and fall for the chocolate delights in front of them.
So with work as her focus, Kenley is ready to start her career in Dallas. Men are out of her recipe, because she fears that once they get past her looks, they’ll be disappointed in what they find. Kenley decides she’s all about the chocolate now.
Or is she?
Because a chance meeting with new Dallas Demon hockey star Nate Johansson might change everything. Sent to Dallas in a blockbuster trade, Nate is somewhere he doesn’t want to be, for reasons that have caused him heartbreak on multiple levels. Nate knows he will never trust a woman again after what happened to him in Minnesota.
But when he meets a woman with an intriguing name and a passion for chocolate, Nate isn’t so sure about his theory. And he might just learn a definition of icing other than the one used in hockey with Kenley as his guide…”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me this eBook to read and give an honest review. I’ve always enjoyed Aven’s books (reviews here) so I was keen to get started, especially as this one contained a sexy ice hockey player!

I wasn’t too sure about Kenley to begin with, I guess I found the whole ‘I’m too pretty to be taken seriously’ thing slightly annoying. Nate on the other hand was an instant hit and not just because he was hot but because he had a heart as well. He arrived on the scene at a crucial moment and pretty much saved the day like a true hero.

Kenley ended up being a character who I grew to care about as the story progressed. When she made an embarrassing messaging mistake I couldn’t help but cringe on her behalf – the first sign that I was beginning to warm to her.

Sometimes I felt Nate was a little too perfect and I found myself waiting for something bad to happen, something that would throw everything up in the air and cause some chaos. Both Kenley and Nate were on a journey, they needed to learn to trust again and take a risk with love. The author captured their feelings and hesitance beautifully, creating a story which was as emotional as it was sexy.

CiCi (Kenley’s mum) was actually my favourite character and made me laugh in every scene she was involved with, she definitely added the comedy factor to this book!

WARNING: The Definition of Icing contains talk of delicious chocolate. Being on a diet whilst reading this book meant that I was practically dribbling all over my Kindle as I read the descriptions of all the wonderful chocolates and goodies – yes, even the curry flavour! My name is Kate and I’m a chocoholic.

A lovely ending finished the story off nicely, it wasn’t my favourite from this author but still a great read.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com

Please Leave a Comment

