A Cottage In The Country by Linn B Halton | Cover Reveal And Review

I am absolutely delighted and honoured to be the very first book blogger to reveal the gorgeous covers (a summer and winter version) for Linn B Halton’s latest book – A Cottage in the Country, which is due to be published by Harper Impulse on 16 July 2015.

I think they’re both stunning and capture the atmosphere of the book perfectly!

ACITC rose med

“What do you do when your best friend has an affair with your husband of twenty-five years? The father of your two children and the person you trusted with your heart?

Well, you pack your bags, grab half of the equity in the house you’ve both lovingly restored and run away to an idyllic little cottage in the country.

Only, it’s not quite so idyllic when

1) the survey comes back to reveal ‘rustic charm’ actually means rundown.

2) The heavens decide to open on moving day and the rain just keeps on coming.

Maddie Brooks grits her teeth and hires the highly recommended ‘man who can’, ex-soldier, Lewis Hart. As he rips out the very shabby, and decidedly not-so-chic kitchen, reality sets in. Not only is he the most abrupt person she’s ever met, but the man is a Neanderthal!

As the flood waters rise, and the village is cut off, everything that could possibly go wrong, does.

Hitting the big five-o is the final straw. No presents, family or friends—just infuriating Lewis, who can’t leave because the flood has now cut off his exit. How on earth is she going to get through this and put her life back together?

Can Maddie Brooks become that ‘fifty-and-fabulous’ woman of her dreams?”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me this eBook to read and share my honest review. You should know by now that I’m a big fan of Linn’s writing so it’s fairly obvious that I couldn’t wait to get my hands on her latest book.

Once again I was hit by the personal touch that this author always seems to express in her writing. It made me feel like I already knew Maddie and, as she yelled at her sat nav in the opening chapter (something I’ve done many times), I knew she would be a character I took to heart. As each disaster happened, Maddie’s exasperation was palpable. I really felt for her as, one by one, her plans went all wrong.

Lewis was certainly a feisty character, he was a bit of a grump at times but for me that just made him more interesting because I wanted to know why he behaved like that. His moodiness around Maddie created such a tense atmosphere, so much so that I could almost feel the awkwardness sparking off the page at me.

The military element was fascinating, it gave some parts of the storyline a gritty, edgy feel – I liked the combination of a beautiful country cottage with images of war and all the suffering that goes alongside it. The cottage itself sounded wonderful to me, as I was reading I found myself picturing the views so vividly thanks to the clear descriptions. This book has a strong visual side – you just can’t help but see everything playing out in your mind.

Towards the end the storyline took an unexpected direction and this totally threw all my predictions out of the window. I found myself frowning at my Kindle because what was happening in front of me just wasn’t what I had hoped for! Then came another twist that I hadn’t seen coming so at that point I decided to give up trying to guess the ending.

This was a picturesque read with an edgy twist and plenty of surprises to keep you on your toes!

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Website | Twitter: @LinnBHalton | Facebook:  Linn B Halton and Author Linn B Halton | Pinterest | HarperImpulse author page | Romantic Novelists’ Association page | Editor of Loveahappyending Lifestyle emagazine

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com

6 thoughts on “A Cottage In The Country by Linn B Halton | Cover Reveal And Review

  1. Wow – it’s been the most exciting start to a Monday for me EVER and mega thanks for revealing the covers for the first time, Kate! You’re review is awesome and thank you so much for taking the time to read and review A Cottage in the Country. I’m doing a happy dance this morning and sending a big, virtual hug! Lxx

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Comment

