Truly Madly Greekly by Mandy Baggot

25369773
                  Published in May 2015

“Capable, confident and career-driven, Ellen had her dream job and a marriage proposal from boyfriend Ross. Life was good, her future set. Until it wasn’t and everything fell apart…

Whisked off to the beautiful island of Corfu to plan her sister Lacey’s big, fat, Greek wedding, Ellen is hoping some time out will help clear her head and heal her heart. But letting go of her past is not going to be easy.

With Lacey in full on Bridezilla mode, Ellen is soon distracted from her own problems. And when the all-inclusive treats on offer at hotel Blue Vue include one gorgeous, brooding Adonis – Yan – Ellen finds him difficult to resist.

But Ellen isn’t looking for love or lust, or anything involving too much ouzo…or is she?”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me this eBook to read and give an honest review. If you’re a regular reader of Me, My Books and I then you’ll know how much I enjoy Mandy’s books – I was really looking forward to getting stuck into her latest offering!

An intriguing start filled my mind with questions. I was so curious about Ellen and Yan because they both seemed to be harbouring secrets and the mystery surrounding them was something that kept me coming back for more. Their interactions with each other were sometimes quite hostile and I loved this, I think I’ve mentioned before that I love a couple who don’t get on but deep down they actually like each other – kinda romantic isn’t it.

I can’t write this review without mentioning Lacey, what a character, I LOVED her! She pretty much said whatever was going through her mind at the time and this made her super entertaining for me. I would love to read a Lacey-inspired story. The bond between Ellen and Lacey was beautifully written and oh so real. There was no pretending they had the perfect relationship, it was all about capturing the best and worst sisterly moments that made it feel so genuine and such a pleasure to read.

The descriptions of Corfu were wonderful, I could practically feel the sun shining through the words. There was plenty of fun in the sun and lots of laugh out loud moments – my absolute favourite words were “keyboard buttons for breasts”, make of that what you will but it certainly made me choke on my Slim Fast shake!

The epilogue brought a mixture of smiles and happy tears. I also took away an important message from the story – a problem shared is a problem halved, bottling things up doesn’t help anyone.

This was a fun read with plenty of drama and sunshine, perfect material to brighten up a dull day.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook | Pinterest | Loveahappyending Bookshelf The Romance Reviews  | Romantic Novelists’ Association | Sapphire Star Publishing | Harper Impulse

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com

2 thoughts on “Truly Madly Greekly by Mandy Baggot

  1. Thank you so much for this wonderful review, Kate. I’m so glad you enjoyed Ellen and Yan’s story!

    Mandy xx

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

