7 Years Bad Sex by Nicky Wells

7 Years Bad Sex Nicky Wells

“One wedding. One curse? Disaster ever after…

A seven-years-bad-sex curse? Surely not! Yet something went wrong when rock singer Casey and drummer Alex got married on that beautiful yacht anchored off St Tropez in the south of France. Something went badly wrong. For even on their wedding night, the young couple discovers a complete and somewhat surprising inability to make love. Muddling through their honeymoon with a string of thin excuses for their predicament, the lovers defer finding a solution (and panicking) until the return to their home in London. After all, they married for life and to make rock music, not for the love of sex. Right?

But when they resume life as normal in London, all hell breaks loose. Increasingly frantic in their quest for release, the unhappy newlyweds embark on a string of hilarious and occasionally harmful antics that drives them, their band, and an assortment of random strangers to the brink of despair. But it ain’t over ‘til it’s over or, in this case… it ain’t over ‘til the newlyweds sing.” 

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me this eBook to read and share my honest opinion. How could I not be looking forward to this book? I love Nicky’s writing (my previous reviews can be found here) and the title of this one just screamed ‘you must read me’! I admit I had high expectations for 7 Years Bad Sex and I’m glad it didn’t disappoint.

Giggling like a schoolgirl was pretty much the ongoing theme for me whilst reading this book. Picturing each scene, each predicament just gave me the giggles, especially as Nicky’s fabulous writing made me feel like I was there in the room with them, awkward!

During some of the more embarrassing moments I cringed on behalf of Casey and Alex, their mortification was palpable and I wanted to erase those moments for them because they were such an adorable couple. I was basically willing the two of them to get down to it – I never thought I’d be so wrapped up in someone else’s sex life!

The writing really was engaging, it completely pulled me into the storyline and made me think of it even when I wasn’t reading. I couldn’t stop turning the Kindle pages to find out what crazy, embarrassing thing would happen next and I found myself still reading at midnight on a couple of occasions.

There were a few surprising turns, Casey and Alex made some really odd decisions but I guess desperation (and a lack of communication) can make a person do strange things. Amongst all the funny parts were a few sparkles of tender moments which I really liked because it gave me the chance to see the ‘real’ side of the couple.

I’d like to share some of my favourite parts of the book with you, the parts that really stick out in my mind:

  • A bad breath problem.
  • An embarrassing incident involving workmen.
  • An interesting new bowling game!
  • An urgent 999 call.
  • A jaw dropping relationship counselling session.
  • Last but not least, two words – James and Rodge! Read the book and you’ll know exactly what I mean.

7 Years Bad Sex was a fabulously funny page-turner, I enjoyed every moment.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Romantic Novelists’ Association | Sapphire Star Publishing |Amazon | Goodreads | Pinterest | Google+

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon – UK | US | DE | CA

2 thoughts on “7 Years Bad Sex by Nicky Wells

  1. Wow! Kate! I didn’t expect a review, knowing how busy you’ve been… but wow! I’m blown away. Thank you so much for your thoughts. I’m delighted you enjoyed it so much! Woohoo! 😀

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

