Recipes For Disaster by Sheryl Browne

13421856
Published in January 2012

“She’s a single. He’s a widower. She wants him. He wants her. She wants to impress. So does he. There’s just one catch – she can’t cook.

To get him, she needs to get past the big fish – his mother. Lucky her, she’s got an Ace up her sleeve and all she’s got to do is impress this one time. Bad luck, though, her new guy can’t cook either, her dog Rambo is on the loose and now they’ve got to pull off the big lunch at the club.

Will it be a match made in heaven? Will they be able to pull off a culinary miracle? Will their combined efforts result in love at first bite? Or is it simply a Recipe for Disaster?”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank Janice from Loveahappyending for sending me this eBook to read and give an honest review.  I always enjoy Sheryl’s books (previous reviews here) and the idea of this one thoroughly intrigued me. I was curious to see if a cookbook within a story would work for me and if Sheryl could achieve the right balance of both elements.

Other than the recipes, one of the stand-out parts of this book was the comedy  – I was laughing out loud after just a few pages at Lisa’s kitchen disasters.  Once again Sheryl’s sense of humour spoke to me and I found that I was able to connect with the storyline easily.  There were plenty of funny and, at times, crazy antics to keep me entertained and on top of all that were lots of yummy recipes and useful cooking tips which I shall definitely be using myself!

Reading from the perspective of different characters meant that I got a full picture of what was going on in each of their minds, this is something that I always find enjoyable when I read.

A pinch of lust and a spoonful of misunderstandings added yet more twists to this addictive book and I simply can’t write this review without mentioning Rambo the dog and Flint the parrot who were particular favourites of mine – their scenes were so funny!

This book was light-hearted, fun to read and full of delicious recipes. A big thumbs-up from me.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR 

Website | Twitter | Facebook

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com

3 thoughts on “Recipes For Disaster by Sheryl Browne

  1. Kate! I can’t believe I didn’t see this and comment before! What an absolutely stunning review. Thank you so much! I was having a bit of a wobble weekend and this has totally cheered me up. Right #amwriting! Thrilled to bits, sweetie. This is why I do it. for people to enjoy. I am so glad that you did, and thank you again for taking time to read. Truly appreciated. 🙂 xx

    Like

    1. Thank you Sheryl, it’s a pleasure. I’m glad to hear my review cheered you up, your books always have the ability to cheer me up so it’s nice to be able to do the same for you! #keepwriting x

      Like

Please Leave a Comment

