Breaking the Ice by Mandy Baggot

Breaking the ice

“When routine driven box office assistant Samantha Smith meets the stars of ‘Skating on Broadway’ her life is turned upside down. Immediately attracted to lead skater Jimmy Lloyd, Samantha does her best to deny her feelings. But when all you can do is burst out laughing and hyperventilate every time you’re under pressure, keeping things under wraps is a hard task. 
 
When the future of her beloved Civic Hall is threatened Samantha must rise to the challenge to ensure its survival. 
 
Constantly scrutinised and criticised by her zany sister Cleo and her brogue wearing boyfriend Jeremy, can Samantha save her job, save the Civic Hall and stop her panic attacks just long enough to give away her heart?”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank Janice from Loveahappyending for sending me this eBook to read and give an honest review. If you are a regular reader of Me, My Books and I you will know that I’m a big fan of Mandy’s books so I really couldn’t wait to get started on this one – from the blurb it sounded like another hit and I’m pleased to say that it most definitely was!

Getting to know Samantha was interesting for me because I seemed to have quite a few things in common with her – organised, liked her own company, not interested in shopping (unless it involved books) and most of all completely tongue-tied when trying to have a conversation with someone.  There were times when her awkwardness and spectacular meltdowns made me cringe, especially as I could totally understand how she felt.  I liked being able to relate to the main character in this way though because it made it so easy to jump into the storyline.

At twenty-four years old Samantha’s sex life surprised me, this side of things was a real source of fascination for me and I loved how the author described her feelings on the issue.

The first time Samantha and Jimmy Lloyd met was rather amusing and soon led to more uncomfortable scenes for Samantha. Jimmy made her very nervous and the result was a mixture of awkward conversations and funny situations that entertained me throughout.  Jimmy was a wonderful character who was super easy to develop a crush on, the way he handled Samantha was particularly endearing.  The romance that followed was gentle yet exciting and kept me flicking through the pages to see if it would end how I hoped it would.

When Samantha’s world seemed to be crashing down around her I must admit that I expected her to react differently but I really admired the way she dealt with it all.  A scene involving a wedding dress mannequin and a key was a particular favourite of mine so look out for that when you read this book.

As I have come to expect from Mandy’s writing I was utterly captivated from start to finish, she has the wonderful ability to draw the reader into the story and make you feel part of it – I just didn’t want it to end!

This was a heart-warming read that left me smiling.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook | Pinterest | Loveahappyending Bookshelf The Romance Reviews  | Romantic Novelists’ Association | Sapphire Star Publishing | Harper Impulse

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com

8 thoughts on “Breaking the Ice by Mandy Baggot

Please Leave a Comment

