Neurotically Yours by Bonnie Trachtenberg

Neurotically yours
Published in November 2013.

“Smart, attractive, and ambitious, thirty-seven-year-old Dara Harrison is, nonetheless, still single—and on sabbatical from dating. Ironically Los Angeles’ most renowned relationship advice columnist, Dara has become a Southland sensation with her “tell-it-like-it-is” approach to the mating game.

Parlaying her success into a new business, Dara launches a revolutionary dating service geared for the perennially single and romantically challenged. Its no-holds-barred theme soon makes the company a roaring success, even catapulting Dara onto the national talk show scene—until, of course, it all backfires. 

With her company under threat and a publicity stunt gone haywire, Dara is forced to join the ranks of her lonely heart clientele, and suddenly realizes that saving the business she cherishes, means facing her lifelong fears—and maybe even falling in love again.”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank Janice from Loveahappyending for sending me this eBook to read and give an honest review.

It felt like I learned quite a bit about Dara’s character in the prologue – it highlighted a moment in her childhood that was clearly going to play a part in her dating future.  Moving forward to the present day and I instantly liked grown-up Dara, she was the kind  of person I would be friends with in real life and this made it easy for me to relate to her.  She also had a lovely connection with her cat and being such a huge animal lover myself I really enjoyed this side of the storyline.

I absolutely loved the whole idea of MateSearch, Dara’s new business venture, particularly the Rate-a-Mate idea which I just knew would create some awkward situations. I was excited to see what kind of characters would take part and how this opportunity would affect Dara’s life.

When I was first introduced to Tony, Dara’s ex-boyfriend, there was something about him that I just really liked and I was keen to see what would happen to their friendship.  Nick was a wonderful character, he was going through a tough time and so was naturally a little bit grumpy – this grumpiness made me laugh and simply made me like even him more!  The court case was highly amusing and had me laughing out loud on more than one occasion.  I had a feeling quite early on that Dara’s love life could go one of two ways with two possible love interests on the scene, I was curious to see which direction she would take and when it all became clear I felt happy with her choice.

The writing style was captivating and kept pulling me back for more, making this a quick read for me.  I became totally caught up in the day-to-day running of the dating service and also in each of the characters lives – the drama that seemed to follow them all was an added bonus!

This was a thoroughly enjoyable, easy read with some touching moments thrown in too.  I look forward to reading more from this author.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Website | Facebook | Twitter

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com | Barnes & Noble

7 thoughts on “Neurotically Yours by Bonnie Trachtenberg

Please Leave a Comment

