What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty

what alice forgot
First published in 2010 and reissued in January 2014 by Penguin.

“Alice is twenty-nine. She adores sleep, chocolate, and her ramshackle new house. She’s newly engaged to the wonderful Nick and is pregnant with her first baby.

There’s just one problem. All of that was ten years ago . . . 

Alice has slipped in a step-aerobics class, hit her head and lost a decade. Now she’s a grown-up, bossy mother of three in the middle of a nasty divorce and her beloved sister Elisabeth isn’t speaking to her. This is her life but not as she knows it. 

Clearly Alice has made some terrible mistakes. Just how much can happen in a decade? 

Can she ever get back to the woman she used to be?”


Firstly I’d like to thank the publisher for sending me this book to read and give an honest review.  I really enjoyed The Husband’s Secret (review here) by the same author so I was looking forward to finding out where this book would take me.

The first chapter set the scene well, Alice was in a dream-like state which was clearly due to her accident.  What followed was fascinating for me, I couldn’t even begin to imagine how confusing it would be to lose so many years of memories but the author captured her emotions so well that I began to understand just how Alice was feeling.  Her confusion shone through in such a believable way that I found myself as curious about her life as she was!

Alongside the main story of Alice’s memory loss was a couple of interesting features: Elizabeth’s homework for Dr Hodges – a fascinating and emotional insight into Elizabeth’s fertility problems (Elizabeth was Alice’s sister), and Grandma’s Blog – blog entries that detailed ‘Grandma Frannie’s’ issues and dilemmas with plenty of humorous comments.  I thought that these additions gave the book an honest feel and made it even more relatable.

As random memories began returning to Alice I started to put the pieces of the puzzle together but there were still quite a few things that I couldn’t work out, the biggest question being ‘who is Gina?’. The writing was so good that I became utterly involved in finding out exactly what had happened in Alice’s life to make her behave so differently and when all was finally revealed I felt a huge sense of relief.

The epilogue was great and, I have to admit, restored my faith in the storyline because towards the end I was starting to worry that things wouldn’t end how I had hoped!

This was a gripping, emotional and sometimes funny read.  Liane Moriarty is fast becoming one of my favourites.


Liane Moriarty is the bestselling author of five novels, Three Wishes, The Last Anniversary, What Alice Forgot, The Hypnotist’s Love Story and most recently The Husband’s Secret, as well as the Space Brigade series for children.

She lives in Sydney with her husband and son.

Website | Blog | Facebook


Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com | The Book Depository


Please Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s