It Felt Like a Kiss – Sarra Manning

it felt like a kiss

Meet Ellie Cohen, one of the most perfect girls in London.

Ellie manages a swank Mayfair gallery, but it’s her life that’s a real work of art. Great job, really good hair, loyal friends, loving family. It’s only her succession of lame duck boyfriends that ruin the picture.

Oh, and the world-famous rock-star father she’s never met, who won’t even acknowledge her existence.

Then Ellie’s perfect life is smashed to pieces when her secret is sold to the highest bidder and her name, face (and pictures of her bottom) are splashed across the tabloids. Suddenly everyone thinks she’s a gold-digging, sex-crazy, famewhore.

Enter David Gold. Charming and handsome David Gold. On paper he’s even more perfect than Ellie, if only he wasn’t her father’s ruthlessly ambitious lawyer whose job is to manage the crisis – and her. He certainly doesn’t think that Ellie’s the innocent party and she doesn’t trust him at all. So why is it that every time they’re alone together, damage limitation is the last thing on their minds?”

Firstly I’d like to thank Madeline from Transworld Books for sending me an uncorrected proof copy to read and give an honest review.  I’m a big fan of Sarra Manning’s writing (my reviews can be found here) so I was extremely excited to receive her latest adult book and couldn’t wait to get started! When I realised that there were characters from a previous book included in the storyline I was even more excited about it.

The story began in Camden, London 1986 and this was something I hadn’t expected after reading the blurb.  Chapter one was also set in Camden but in the present day – it continued to switch between the two dates throughout the book and it didn’t take long for me to figure out the significance of it.

Getting the low-down on Ellie’s dating history made interesting reading and I enjoyed the moment that her flatmates, Tess and Lola, told her in a brutally honest way that she only seems to date ‘lame ducks’.  An eventful weekend at Glastonbury was the beginning of Ellie’s nightmare – I really liked Ellie so I found myself feeling incredibly sorry for her as she continuously seemed to get kicked in the teeth.

When David Gold was thrown into the equation I couldn’t wait to see how he and Ellie would manage to work together, especially seeing as they didn’t seem to get on very well.  Their banter was so entertaining and I would have loved to have read from David’s perspective because I often found myself wondering what he was thinking.

There were so many great parts of this book but some of my favourite moments included: a penis infestation at the art gallery, an ingenious escape from a hotel, an unexpected guest at a family dinner, a heated argument on the heath and a difficult TV appearance.  I also loved Ellie’s trip to Paris, the descriptions of everything were written so beautifully that I felt like I was there with her!

Towards the end there was a surprising turn of events that only succeeded in hurting Ellie even more, by this point I was feeling very protective of her character and wanted to jump into the book and sort it all out for her.

As always the writing was engaging and pulled me in with the humorous style that I have come to expect and love from this author, I found myself laughing out loud on many occasions and I felt sad when the book was coming to an end.

This was another fantastic read from a brilliant author, a MUST for all chicklit fans!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sarra Manning started her writing career on the music paper, Melody Maker, then spent five years working on the legendary UK teen mag, J17, first as a writer, then as Entertainment Editor. Subsequently she edited teen fashion bible Ellegirl UK and the BBC’s What To Wear Magazine.

Sarra now writes for ELLE, Grazia, Red, InStyle, the Guardian, the Mail On Sunday’s You magazine, Harper’s Bazaar, Stylist and the Sunday Telegraph’s Stella.  Her YA novels, which include Guitar Girl, Let’s Get Lost, the Diary Of A Crush trilogy and Nobody’s Girl have been translated into numerous languages.  Her first grown-up novel, Unsticky, was published in 2009, You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me in 2011 and Nine Uses for an Ex-Boyfriend in 2012.

To find out more about Sarra Manning click on the following links:

Website | Twitter | Blog

It Felt Like a Kiss was published by Corgi and can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

Please Leave a Comment

