I Wished For You by Amy Huberman

I wished for you
Published by Penguin in June 2013.

“Grace and Robbie seem destined to be together for ever, but when he unexpectedly goes down on bended knee, Grace freaks out. Cue the mother of all meltdowns.

On top of all that, Grace is not exactly fulfilled by her job – dressing well-to-do ladies with way more money than style. Cue – in her addled state – losing it at work, with disastrous consequences.

Into Grace’s train-wreck of a life comes Verity – ex-Hollywood costume lady and vintage-clothing queen. Verity has seen it all and done it all and her life makes Grace’s look about as exciting as Songs of Praise. Verity tells Grace that the secret of happiness is to discover her ‘heart wish’. If only Grace could work out what her heart’s greatest wish really is…”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the publisher for sending me this book to read and give an honest review.

The witty writing style was something that really jumped out at me with this book and it happened pretty much straight away. The amusing situations Grace found herself in and her reactions to them were described in clear detail so that I could picture them easily – this really made me giggle!

I’m not even sure how to describe Grace, she was sort of crazy but in a very adorable way.  I definitely liked her and found myself wanting the best for her so there were times that I felt frustrated by the choices she made.  She was fed up with everyone expecting her and Robbie to get married so when she thought he was about to propose, she freaked out in a spectacular way!

The moment Grace met Verity was enchanting, this was something that I hadn’t expected from the storyline and it brought a magical feeling to the book.  Other favourite moments of mine included: reading about how Grace and Robbie first met, ice skating in New York, Christmas time, the Wish Factory and a movie-style proposal. I also loved how it ended with a beginning (this will make sense when you read it), it was different and left me smiling.

The only downside for me was that some of it felt a little bit forced, there were a few places where it almost felt like the author was trying too hard which was a shame because the storyline itself was really good.

This was an enjoyable read with lots of laughs, twists and turns to keep you on your toes.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Twitter | Goodreads

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com | The Book Depository

One thought on “I Wished For You by Amy Huberman

Please Leave a Comment

