Lullaby by Amanda Hocking

Lullaby

“Gemma had to disappear with Penn, Lexi and Thea after a night of incredible violence on the island. She can still barely come to terms with her new affinity with the ocean – and the siren powers that go with it. Now she’s been transformed, Gemma has no choice but to leave all she loves behind. She swears she won’t lose her humanity, but the call of the sea is maddening and compulsive.

Harper won’t give up on her missing sister. The search draws her closer than she’d like to bohemian Daniel, but she could really use his help. They’d almost given up, until a small news item tells of a horrific murder in a nearby beach town, and Harper thinks she’s found the deadly group. But can Gemma’s curse be reversed – and what if she doesn’t want to come home?”

MY REVIEW

I bought this book ages ago after reading Wake (review here), I had been looking forward to getting stuck into the second instalment of The Watersong Series ever since but seeing as I had many MANY other reading commitments I just hadn’t managed to get round to it.

It began with the aftermath of what had happened at the end of the previous book, it briefly recapped the main events so that I was able to pick up the storyline easily.  As with the first book I have to say that it didn’t fully hold my attention for the first half of the book, I found it very easy to put it down at that point because it felt rather slow.  Towards the end it became much more exciting and held my interest completely so once again the book redeemed itself by the end.

One of my favourite moments was a road trip that involved Harper, Daniel and Alex – it was during this trip that I really felt like I got to know these characters on a deeper level.  Another part that was particularly enjoyable for me was the bond between Harper and Gemma, they were so connected as sisters and I have a feeling that there may be more to this than meets the eye.

The storyline had a dark edge to it with a lingering sense of danger but this was lightened by a hint of romance, firstly between Gemma and Alex and more exciting, for me, between Harper and Daniel. Theirs was a slow building relationship that continuously teased me with ‘will they, won’t they’ moments.

This was a dark read with some lovely characters, I look forward to finding out what happens next!

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com | The Book Depository

3 thoughts on “Lullaby by Amanda Hocking

Please Leave a Comment

