The Restaurant @ The Mill by Linn B Halton Including Winter Warmers!

Fancy ‘A Winter Warmer’ … at The Restaurant @ The Mill?

therestaurantnew.indd

“Age, relationships, and careers – we are all unique. Yet beneath the exterior facade we choose to show to the world at large, what do we have in common? The things we bury deep inside; the worries and fears we are unable to verbalise, and the hand fate takes in our lives is a common thread. Sometimes we fail to recognise in each other that innermost struggle on the path to true love.

Six very different stories, six couples linked by The Restaurant @ The Mill, owned by Hilary Marks and Ben Adams. As the restaurant thrives the atmosphere is alive with conversation, snapshots of lives unfolding; each one a personal journey.”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me this e-book to read and review.  The Restaurant @ The Mill is available to buy now from Amazon.

I struggled to get into the story to begin with but I’m not sure if that was the books fault or because I had just returned from holiday, either way it didn’t last long and I was soon hooked by the characters and each of their personal stories, which were told through the seasons.

Hilary was a lovely character who was always there for others, she definitely gave off a caring agony aunt vibe.  She knew that Ben wasn’t telling her everything about himself and yet she still didn’t push him to open up, instead waiting for him to share when he felt ready.  It took me a while to figure Ben out, he was very quiet and reserved and this just made me want to know his secrets more!

I absolutely loved Sadie, even after a family tragedy she was still a happy and bubbly character and this made her really likeable to me.  I enjoyed watching her grow in confidence throughout the book as she came to some firm decisions about what she wanted out of life.

Thomas was a shrewd businessman but wasn’t so good with his personal life, the reasons behind this were something that I hadn’t expected and I liked that I hadn’t been able to figure it out before.

At times I found Charlotte and Nick’s story difficult to read but only because I felt so worried for them, they were struggling with their life together and I found myself really hoping things would turn out for the best between them.

Grace was an amazing character, tales from her past made me feel so sad and later on when things were starting to go right for her she received some devastating news that brought tears to my eyes.

I really enjoyed reading about Isobel’s first steps into writing fiction, it was fascinating to find out about the thought processes that go along with writing a book.  When she met Lionel I had a feeling that it would only end in disaster especially with David being around so much after his retirement.

On top of all these characters was the addition of a spirit called Sarah, she was a fabulous twist to the story and her tale was as interesting as the rest.  The epilogue was great, it was very different and really left me smiling!

This book covered some very difficult issues (bereavement, family rifts and an unplanned pregnancy to name just a few) but I felt that they were written well and with care, I feel confident that most people would be able to relate to at least one character and that is what makes this book so readable for me.

I loved how the individual stories tied together and made me feel personally involved with them all, also the descriptions of the mill and it’s surroundings enabled me to picture everything so easily.

This is a thought-provoking book that has everything from romance to ghosts, definitely worth a read!

I asked why Linn was inspired to write this collection of stories, which is based around one central point that ties them all together – an old mill in a very rural setting.

“It reflects love through several decades – from the very young, to a couple meeting up again after fifty years apart. Each couple’s problems are different and for some there is no quick and easy answer, but then that’s the nature of life and the pursuit of true love!

The idea came to me when I was sitting across the table from my husband on a romantic night out in one of our favourite restaurant’s in Nailsworth, Gloucestershire. I looked around at the other diners and wondered if they too were out celebrating a special occasion. The seed was sown …”

WINTER WARMERS

Winter warmers recipes (2) (872x1280)The Restaurant is publishing its own ‘Winter Warmer’ recipe booklet and it will be available to download free at the end of January 2014. To sample some of the recipes in advance of that, drop by and be tempted by delicious Easy Apple Muffins and Kedgeree or Winter Sausages and some wonderful wines to accompany them! This small collection of both savoury and sweet recipes will become a firm favourite – who could resist Boozy Chicken in a pot or Christmas crepes? Linn B Halton will be publishing each recipe individually on her website, so if you are looking for some winter-warming meals for the family, click through!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Bristol born Linn B Halton lives in Gloucestershire, in the small village of Arlingham. It sits a stone’s throw away from the banks of the River Severn; she resides there with her adorable husband and cat with attitude – Mr Tiggs!

Whilst Linn loves to write romantic novels, there is often a psychic ‘touch’ to her stories. Many of the paranormal events that feature in some of her books are real-life experiences.

She is the author of four novels, one true story and three novellas. Signed by HarperImpulse and US publishers Sapphire Star, the third novella in the Angels Among Us series, Forever, is out on 23 January 2014.

Linn is the creator, and editor-in-chief, of the Loveahappyending Lifestyle magazine (LLm) and was the winner of the:

 2013 Festival of Romance Industry Award for “Innovation in Romantic Fiction (Author)”

She is also a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association.

LINKS

Website (linnbhalton.co.uk) | Twitter: @LinnBHalton | Facebook:  Linn B Halton and Author Linn B Halton | Amazon Author PagePinterest | Loveahappyending Lifestyle | HarperImpulse and Sapphire Star Publishing author pages

Linn bookshelf final (2) (960x326)

6 thoughts on “The Restaurant @ The Mill by Linn B Halton Including Winter Warmers!

  1. I’ve read this one and I too loved the individual stories in this novel. I really felt like one of the diners in the restaurant as the character’s lives, loves and concerns where revealed through the pages. Great to have a recipe book to go with this book and The Restaurant @ The Mill!

    Like

  2. I’ve read it! Loved it and reviewed it. The book made me a firm fan of Linn’s writing. The idea of a ‘Winter Warmer’ recipe book is a fabulous one. I quite fancy some of the recipes already. Well done, Linn – and thanks for sharing your wonderful review, Kate. Have a lovely Christmas and may the New Year bring you all that you wish for. 🙂 xx

    Like

  3. Waves all and thank you so much to Kate for a wonderful review and for having immersed herself in the collection of stories! I’m arriving late due to moving house on the 19th December (not to be recommended) and having no internet connection for 12 days … a bit like the 12 days of Christmas, but not so much fun! However, I’m thrilled to be here at last and thank you all (ladies) for dropping by in my absence! It’s a wonderful boost today to read this lovely review and all your kind comments – after a chilly, dank and rather weird non-Christmas spent painting and tearing down walls. Off to share … and hope you all had a fabulous Christmas and that you have an amazing New Year! Mega thanks to Kate, who had a busy Christmas planned, for taking the time to put the post together so beautifully and for taking the time to review The Restaurant @ The Mill. I will be raising a glass in your honour tonight Kate! Lxx

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

