Tempting Fate by Jane Green

tempting fate

“When Gabby first met Elliott she knew he was the man for her. In twenty years of marriage she has never doubted her love for him – even when he refused to give her the one thing she still wants most of all. But now their two daughters are growing up Gabby feels that time and her youth are slipping away. For the first time in her life she is restless. And then she meets Matt . . .

Intoxicated by the way this young, handsome and successful man makes her feel, Gabby is momentarily blind to what she stands to lose on this dangerous path. And in one reckless moment she destroys all that she holds dear.

Consumed by regret, Gabby does everything she can to repair the homeshe has broken. But are some betrayals too great to forgive?”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the publisher for sending me this book to read and give an honest review.

Gabby was on a night out with the girls when she first met Matt and from that moment her life became extremely complicated.  It all happened gradually though, I’m pleased to say, with plenty of descriptions of how she was feeling during that time.  The emails were particularly enjoyable for me – there was a sort of buzz surrounding them that seemed to transfer through the book to me.

I think the author successfully highlighted the highs and lows of a long-term marriage/relationship, she captured the feelings and emotions of each character beautifully in a clear and accurate manner.

I became so caught up in all aspects of Gabby’s life so even though I had a good idea where things were heading I was still inwardly hoping that I might be wrong.  Whenever the storyline switched to her husband Elliott’s point of view I felt so torn between the two of them – I just couldn’t pick a side!

There were quite a few unexpected moments along the way and each time my perspective seemed to change just a little bit. Every milestone that Gabby and Elliott reached brought new difficulties, I wanted the best for this couple and there were times when I couldn’t figure out what the best would be.  There was something I was really hoping Gabby would do and when she finally did it I breathed a sigh of relief, this moment became a big turning point in the story and confirmed a few things in my mind too.

This was a rocky read, very up and down emotionally but it certainly left me with a smile on my face.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | The Book Depository

Please Leave a Comment

