Sky on Fire by Emmy Laybourne

Sky on fire

“Trapped inside a superstore, fourteen kids have worked together to create a refuge while a series of escalating disasters, including a monster hailstorm and a terrifying chemical weapons spill, mean they cannot leave. Then strangers appeared, destroying their fragile peace, but also bringing a glimmer of hope.

Knowing that the polluted air outside will turn them into bloodthirsty rage monsters, some of the kids decide to stay in the safety of the store. But their sanctuary has already been disturbed once …

The others, determined to find their parents, head out into the darkness and devastation in their recently repaired school bus. If they can get to Denver International Airport, they might be evacuated to safety.

But the outside world is even worse than they expected . . .”

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the publishers for sending me this book to read and give an honest review.  After thoroughly enjoying the first book Monument 14 (my review here) I was chomping at the bit to read this one!

This began with a letter that refreshed my memory of the situation the kids were in when I left them at the end of the last book.  The feelings of desperation and fear soon came flooding back to me as I flipped through the pages.  There was much more to discover this time round as I got the point of view from the outside world as well as inside the supermarket, this was something I particularly enjoyed.

For me one of the most fascinating things about this story was how each blood type reacted to the chemicals in the air, it was just so imaginative and made the whole thing feel possible.  The way the kids dealt with everything that was thrown at them was inspiring, they stuck together through extremely difficult circumstances and I found myself feeling a motherly sort of pride towards them for all that they achieved.

The feeling of danger had my heart pounding and I couldn’t stop reading, I just had to find out what would happen next.  This is what I would call a visual book because it was so easy to picture each scene in my mind, I would definitely love to watch a movie version of this series.

Things became really intense towards the end, I was literally holding my breath (not very healthy, don’t try this at home) as I read through the final pages.  Then came the epilogue which was brilliant and left me desperate to read the next instalment Savage Drift which is due to be released in May 2014.

This was another exciting, gritty and fast-paced read.  It was definitely my kind of book!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

Emmy Laybourne is an American novelist and a former character actress. She appeared as an actress in the movies Superstar and The In-Laws, the NBC series DAG and Comedy Central’s Premium Blend among others. Her debut novel Monument 14 was a NY Times Editor’s Choice and received a starred review in Publisher’s Weekly. Emmy lives in upstate NY, with her husband, their two children and a feisty, slightly judgmental bearded dragon named Goldie.

LINKS

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com | The Book Depository

Please Leave a Comment

