The Valentine Present and Other Diabolical Liberties – Lynda Renham

Valentine present

“On arriving home after a friend’s posh wedding, launderette worker Harriet finds her life irrevocably changed as she discovers her flat ransacked and her boyfriend missing. In a matter of hours she is harassed by East End gangsters and upper crust aristocrats. Accepting an offer she can’t refuse, Harriet, against her better judgment becomes the fiancée of the wealthy Hamilton Lancaster, with dire consequences. What she had not bargained on was meeting Doctor Brice Edmunds. 

The Valentine Present and Other Diabolical Liberties is Lynda Renham’s funniest novel so far. A cocktail of misunderstandings, three unlikely gangsters, a monkey and a demented cat make this novel a hysterical read. Follow Harriet’s adventure where every attempt to get out of trouble puts her deeper in it.”

Firstly I’d like to thank Raucous Publishing for sending me this eBook to read and give an honest review.  I have enjoyed other books by Lynda Renham (reviews here), I love her witty titles and hilarious writing style so I really couldn’t wait to start this one!

I’m pleased to say that I wasn’t disappointed, this was just as fun as the previous books I’ve read.  The first chapter delightfully explained the title of the book, it also introduced me to three gangsters (who were all called Jack) and Harriet’s boyfriend Julian.  As with the other books I’ve read by this author I was instantly hooked and laughing out loud pretty much straight away.

The dramatic events that led to Harriet accepting Hamilton’s offer were entertaining and captivating – I just couldn’t stop flipping the pages to find out what was going to happen next.  The trip to Scotland was everything I hoped it would be and the storyline continued to hold my attention throughout with the hilarious ups and downs that Harriet faced (there were just too many funny moments to mention).  The gorgeous Brice added an interesting side to the story, the chemistry between him and Harriet was perfectly written and an absolute pleasure to read.

This was a fabulously fun read, the comedy combined with the criminal undertone made it thoroughly entertaining!

Buy the book:

Amazon Kindle Edition | Amazon Paperback

Find the author:

blog | Twitter | Facebook

Please Leave a Comment

