Falling: Angels Among Us – Linn B Halton – Guest Post and Giveaway!

Today I’m delighted to welcome Linn B Halton back to Me, My Books and I for the relaunch of her Angels Among Us Series.  

Falling

“Ceri thinks she sees angels…everywhere. She struggles to keep separate what feels like two very different sides to her life. As a manager in an advertising company she’s been working with the gorgeous Alex for two years. The have a friendship based upon the image she portrays whilst she’s at work and it helps to keep her sane. One mad, crazy night spent sharing their secrets and a lot of wine result in them ending up in bed together and their relationship changes. When Alex explains that the reason he doesn’t date is because someone broke his heart, how can Ceri admit that she feels a deep connection to him?

Ceri knows she’s different. What she doesn’t fully appreciate is that her task in life is to correct a series of incidents that alter the course of many of the people’s lives with whom she comes into contact. She’s simply putting right little errors that could ripple outwards and change the course of their destiny. However; when she finds herself getting pulled into things that happen around her, how can she prove that she really has made a difference? Is it all in her head?

She’s alone for a reason; she’s not meant to fall in love in her earthly life. Alex is supposed to cross paths with her and help Ceri during a phase where she begins to question the signs she’s being given. It’s meant to be a turning point for them both—but in opposite directions. They are destined to travel very different paths…but Ceri doesn’t know that and neither does Alex…”

Falling heart

“No one chooses to see angels, why would they?”

This is a romance story that explores the possibility of there being something more than just the ‘here and now’. If that were the case, how would it work? What keeps us on the path determined for us, when we have free will? How would the spirit world link with us as we go about our lives? Love is a powerful emotion, but can it change the course of someone’s destiny? Ceri is ‘Falling’…

Read chapter one http://linnbhalton.co.uk/falling/.

MY REVIEW

The very first sentence captured my interest because it mentioned Ceri’s ability to see angels – angels and the afterlife have always intrigued me so I knew from just one line that I would be hooked on Ceri’s story.  It was obvious from the start that she had received plenty of negative feedback about her ability and it made me feel sad that she had to suppress her instinctive need to talk about it, if I were in Ceri’s position I would definitely want to share my experiences!  The first angel sighting that was mentioned gave me chills as I was able to visualise it so clearly and the goosebumps continued with each sighting thereafter (I’m such a scaredy-cat).

Ceri had a non-identical twin brother called Seb who was not afraid to tell her what he thought about her ability, he certainly wasn’t a believer so Ceri kept her feelings to herself even when she knew that Seb’s life was about to be thrown into turmoil in some way.

I liked how Ceri admitted to becoming a different version of herself whenever she walked into the office of the advertising company she worked for, I think everyone has different versions of themselves for different situations so this really got me thinking about the various versions of me :) .

Ceri was a wonderful character, she used her ability to help people and I admired her for that but whenever she wasn’t able to help someone she felt incredibly guilty.  It was during those times that I wanted to reach into the book and give her a hug to make her feel better!

There was a great mix of supporting characters, I particularly liked Alex who worked with Ceri because he seemed fun – I could easily picture him in my mind and I loved the good effect he had on Ceri.  However, as the story progressed his behaviour began to confuse me, not in a bad way but in a ‘I have to know why he’s acting like that‘ kind of way.  This was why I felt so relieved when I got to read from Alex’s perspective, I was surprised and intrigued by what I discovered about him – this is exactly why I love to read a story from both sides, I think it really opens up the storyline.

Once again the authors descriptive writing made me feel like I was living the story instead of just reading it, so expect to feel a variety of emotions as you follow Ceri on her journey.  The end left my heart pounding furiously, I had all sorts of questions and possible theories racing through my mind so I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next in Forbidden.

This was a spiritual, emotional and thought-provoking read with a touch of romance, a great start to an intriguing series!

Angels Among Us series Ceri

GUEST POST

Reviewers are so important to an author, but I don’t know whether readers appreciate that professional reviewers like yourself, Kate, often work closely with authors. I have to say you played a HUGE part as a beta reader feeding back on this series. In particular, your feedback for part 2, Forbidden, was critical. I only had a small panel of beta readers with a 50/50 split between people who believed ‘something’ exists and those who aren’t so familiar with the subject, but were reviewers of romance.

As a long-time sceptic myself, I knew that the balance between the romance (I am, after all, a romance writer first and foremost) and the ‘psychic bit’ had to be just right. I know that for many people even talking about the subject is weird – a bit like believing UFOs exist. However, there are a lot of people who do believe and I was concerned that not only did I have to get the romance/psychic balance right, but I also had to explain how angels living on this earthly plane might ‘work’ with sincerity. I risked alienating people who have spent years researching this subject and have strong beliefs, and those to whom the romance element is first and foremost, but the psychic element adds a little intrigue.

I suppose I’ve been researching psychic phenomena most of my life. My earliest experiences go back to a young child in a cot and that’s a rather freaky thing to admit! Detailed research for this series began about three years ago, but even then it was very difficult when I sat down to spell out clearly the details of how angels, living among us on this earthly plane, might work. Just writing those words still sounds very ‘hippy, out there’ even to my ears! Your reaction to Forbidden (part 2) was amazing, but clearly there was a need for me to revisit chapter two, where the explanation and information given was (I admit) a LOT to take in. And that was precisely what you told me! So I tweaked and did a little cutting … Forbidden won’t be released until November 2013, so I’m getting ahead of myself …

Thank you for giving me the opportunity Linn, it was my first experience as a beta reader and I enjoyed every minute!

linnbhalton

Falling is a paranormal romance novella published by HarperImpulse, you can buy the book from:

Amazon | Website

To find out more about Linn B Halton:

Twitter: @LinnBHalton | Facebook: Linn B Halton and Author Linn B Halton | Pinterest | HarperImpulse author page | Romantic Novelists’ Association page | Editor of Loveahappyending Lifestyle emagazine

 

GIVEAWAY

There are some fabulous prizes to be won, just click on the following link to find out how to enter:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Good luck!

4 thoughts on “Falling: Angels Among Us – Linn B Halton – Guest Post and Giveaway!

Please Leave a Comment

