Jill Steeples – Author Interview

Today I’m delighted to welcome Jill Steeples to Me, My Books and I:

Jill Steeples

Jill Steeples lives in a small market town in Bedfordshire with her husband and two children. When she’s not writing, she enjoys reading, walking, baking cakes, eating them and drinking wine.

From an early age she fell in love with the fabulously funny romances of Jilly Cooper, and vowed, one day, she would have a go at writing one of her own.

Jill loves writing short stories, particularly those with a twist in the tail, and her work has appeared in popular women’s magazines around the world and in a number of charity anthologies.

To find out more:

Website | Facebook | Twitter 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hi Jill,

Where did the idea for Desperately Seeking Heaven come from?

Initially I had the idea of a famous sportsman being involved in a car crash and two teenage girls coming upon his ghost as he emerges from the wreckage. The story developed from there although the sportsman and the girls never made it into the novel.

Who designed the cover and why did you go for that particular design?

I had to do an art brief which involved coming up with some ideas for the cover including colours, content, style etc. I honestly didn’t know where to start, but once I got going there was no stopping me. I had all sorts of fanciful ideas including heaven’s gates, angels and lots of glitter! Thankfully the cover designer used none of them. When I saw the cover for the first time I knew it was perfect and sums up the story brilliantly – it’s fun, flirty and deliciously romantic.

I agree, it’s a gorgeous cover! How do you decide on names for your characters?

My hero is called Jimmy Mack which just so happens to be my all-time favourite song! I gave him the name James McArthur but everyone knows him as Jimmy Mack. My heroine picked her own name, Alice. I couldn’t imagine her being called anything else.

Which of your characters would you like to meet in person and why?

Jimmy Mack! He’s a gorgeous, talented and charming TV presenter with a mischievous sense of humour, who died far too early.

How long did it take you to write Desperately Seeking Heaven?

The first draft took about six months but it’s gone through many re-writes and revisions. I think I’d be horrified if I actually counted up the number of hours I spent on it.

If you had to write it all over again, would you change anything?

Every time I look at it I can see little things that I’d like to change, but I don’t think I’d change anything major to the overall story.

Do you follow a plan when you are writing or do you let the story guide you?

I wish I could plan, I’m sure it would make the whole process a lot easier. Instead, I start with a vague idea and hope it takes me in the right direction to The End.

Where is your favourite place to write?

On my laptop, on my sofa, looking out over the garden.

If you could travel anywhere in the world to do research for a book where would it be?

Australia, it’s somewhere I’ve always wanted to visit and I’m sure it would give me plenty of inspiration for stories.

FUN QUESTIONS

Paperback or eBook?

I never thought I’d say this but eBook!

Telephone or face-to-face?

Face-to-face.

Dogs or cats?

Dogs definitely!

Snow or sun?

Sun, although not too much.

Breakfast, lunch or dinner?

Dinner, it’s the biggest, isn’t it?

Any last words for your readers?

If you like your romance with a touch of magic, lots of fun and a dash of poignancy then this is the story for you!

Thank you so much for being here today Jill, it was a pleasure to have you on my blog. I particularly enjoyed reading about how the gorgeous cover came about!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now check out the book:

Desperately Seeking Heaven 60

“Love always comes when you least expect it, at least that’s what PA Alice Fletcher tells herself as she looks forward to another Friday night of trash telly and wine-for-one.

But what happens when the unexpected is daytime TV crush Jimmy Mack, and he’s sitting on your couch watching the news…of the accident that claimed his life?

Soon, Alice finds her ordered life turned upside down by helping Jimmy right the wrongs of his life so he can cross over to the ‘other side.’

But most unexpected of all is Alice’s growing realisation that her gorgeous ghost has taken up residence in her heart as well as in her home”

Desperately Seeking Heaven was Published by Carina UK in August 2013.  Click on the following links to purchase your own copy:

Carina UK | Amazon UK | Amazon US | Kobo

One thought on “Jill Steeples – Author Interview

Please Leave a Comment

