What It Takes – Terry Tyler

what it takes

“A tale of three sisters…

Karen Kavanagh has spent her life feeling like the runt of the family.

Her two elder sisters, domestic goddess Ava and salon owner Saskia, are mini versions of their mother, a gorgeous Danish beauty. Karen has inherited her father’s droopy, dull brown hair and long nose – pitted against two Scandinavian sauna babes, she feels like Cinderella in reverse.

Danny Alvarez doesn’t see her like that. He thinks she’s wonderful.
Lots of women want Danny, but Danny just wants Karen.
He pursues her with the devotion of a stalker – but she pushes him away. Then she realises what she’s done…

Set in Norfolk, Terry Tyler’s sixth novel, “What It Takes”, is a story of insecurity, jealousy, sibling rivalry, love and loss, and the games people play in the search for love – because if you love someone with all your heart you’ll do what it takes to make them yours…”

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me this eBook to read and give an honest review.  I have previously read and enjoyed other books by Terry Tyler and you can find my reviews of these here.

The prologue didn’t give much away but it thoroughly intrigued me and left me wanting to know more! Ava then began the introduction of her interesting family which consisted of three sisters and their mum.  Karen (one of the sisters) was someone who grabbed my attention; she felt like the odd one out of the three girls and I have to admit that I could kind of see why.  By the time I had finished reading about the ups and downs of their lives I felt like I knew them all personally, I believe that the authors natural writing style had a lot to do with this.

My opinion of Karen changed throughout the book, there were times when I was concerned for her and times when she annoyed me – her snobbery over Danny’s intellect was one of those moments.  I constantly felt curious as to where her behaviour would lead her.  There were hints of something that had happened during Karen’s school days and I couldn’t wait to find out what it was – when all was revealed I have to admit that it wasn’t what I had been expecting and felt that it showed a worrying side to her character.

I was pleasantly surprised when the storyline switched to Danny’s point of view, he seemed like a bit of a lost soul to me at the beginning and there were times when my heart broke for him.  I was confused by some of his actions where Karen was concerned though and it wasn’t until the end that I was able to look back at those moments with fresh eyes (this will make complete sense if you read it :)).  The supporting characters were strong and I enjoyed reading about them just as much as the main characters.

A huge twist in the storyline towards the end really surprised me, I absolutely hadn’t seen it coming! This led to lots of complications and hidden truths being revealed, some of which I had figured out and others that surprised me once again.

Self-image was an important part of this book, Karen thought very poorly of herself and at times I wanted to reach into my Kindle and give her a shake!

This was another enjoyable read by Terry Tyler, relationships with both family and lovers were nicely dissected in this tale of love, regrets and secrets.

What it Takes can be purchased from:

Amazon UK | Amazon US

To find out more about Terry Tyler:

Blog | Twitter | Facebook

2 thoughts on “What It Takes – Terry Tyler

  1. Many thanks for this, Kate! it was hard to write a book with a main character that wasn’t very likeable – but I often think that the self-obsessed,deluded or emotionally disturbed make more interesting characters than the nicey-nicey! I’m glad you didn’t guess all the twisty bits ~ I do work hard at giving red herrings, and making them all feasible yet not obvious…!! I’m also very pleased you liked the supporting characters too – I feel making them as well drawn as the main characters is so important. 😀

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

