Aven Ellis – Author Interview

Today I’m delighted to welcome Aven Ellis to Me, My Books and I:

Author Photo

Aven Ellis has been writing fiction since she was sixteen. Although she wanted nothing more than to be a novelist, she also knew if she wanted to eat she would need a professional writing job. So she left Dallas and studied communications at a large Midwestern university, then began careers in journalism and PR writing. But writing about city council meetings and restaurant franchises was not as much fun as writing for young women trying to figure out their careers and potential boyfriends, so Aven got herself a job in television that allowed her to write at night.  Connectivity is Aven’s debut novel; Waiting For Prince Harry and a new adult romantic comedy will be published next.

Aven lives in Dallas with her family. When she is not writing, she enjoys shopping, cooking, connecting with friends on social media, and watching any show that features Gordon Ramsay.

To find out more:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hi Aven,

Where did the idea for Connectivity come from?

Believe it or not, I was watching my very first episode of Sherlock on American TV and was transfixed by Benedict Cumberbatch’s hair! I couldn’t get over how wavy it was. And as I watched Benedict, suddenly the hero for Connectivity formed in my head: William Cumberland. Connectivity was completely developed because I was watching TV and liked an actor’s hair, LOL.

How did you come up with the title?

I knew I wanted William to be a social media mogul. So I started scribbling down company names on a piece of paper for a place where people would form social connections—and then I thought, Connectivity. The name makes sense for a social media network, but also for the relationship between William and MK (the heroine), as they become connected on a personal level as well.

Which of your characters would you like to meet in person and why?

Oh, that’s a tough question! But I would have to say it would be William. I want to see him run an empire in person. And I would want to meet him so I could stare at his wicked wavy hair up close.

Is any part of Connectivity based on your own personal experiences?

Yes! Like MK, I actually work in television for a sports network. So I know the world of sports television very, very well. I am also an avid cook like MK, too.

What do you hope your readers will learn from Connectivity?

I hope women will walk away with the idea that you don’t have to choose between a career and your personal life in order to be very successful. That the right person will not hinder your career or distract you from it, but rather help you grow and blossom as a well-rounded individual.

What is the hardest part of writing a book?

Knowing you have a specific amount of time to write but your mind is a virtual white board of blankness…

What is the easiest part of writing a book?

Character sketching. I love creating new people, all the way down to what perfume/cologne they wear or what they like to do for exercise. My sketches are very detailed.

What are you currently reading?

Roasting In Hell’s Kitchen: Temper Tantrums, F Words, and the Pursuit of Perfection by Gordon Ramsay. I am obsessed with chefs.

What do you like to do when you are not writing?

I love cooking, shopping, working out, reading fashion magazines, chatting with friends on social media. I’m a talker—give me a glass of wine or a cup of coffee and good conversation and I’m a happy woman.

What is the one thing you cannot live without?

Sunscreen. I’m super pale.

FUN QUESTIONS

Paperback or eBook?

Both! Why limit where you can read?

Hot or cold?

Ironic, since I live in Texas, but I love when it is cold enough to wear a sweater.

Dogs or cats?

Cats! I have two of them and would have loads more if people wouldn’t accuse me of being a crazy cat lady…

Telephone or face-to-face?

Face-to-face. I love being around people.

Laptop, desktop, or tablet?

I kick it old school with a desktop.

Any last words for your readers?

I know you have many choices on how to spend your free time…so thank you for spending some of it with my characters and reading their stories!

Thank you so much for being here today Aven, it was a pleasure to have you on my blog. I particularly enjoyed reading about your unusual inspiration for Connectivity :).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now check out the book:

aven ellis

“Overachiever Mary-Kate Grant (who is indeed named after an Olsen Twin) has followed every rule to the letter to pursue her dream of working in TV programming.  Ripping a page from the “hard work pays off” playbook, she takes an assistant level job at a Chicago sports network to break into the industry.

MK has no time or desire for a relationship right now—she is totally focused on her career and being independent, unlike the other women in her family.

But MK’s plans are run through the shredder when she finds herself working for William Cumberland, a British media mogul who made his fortune with Connectivity, a social media site. William blows into Chicago just like the winds off Lake Michigan and purchases the group of networks MK works for—and makes her his personal assistant in the process.

Suddenly MK finds her career plans in jeopardy. William makes her question everything she has ever thought and has the uncanny ability to see right through her. And for the first time in her life, MK finds herself not only questioning what she wants for her career but for her personal life as well…”

Connectivity will be released by Soul Mate Publishing on 23 October 2013.

6 thoughts on “Aven Ellis – Author Interview

Please Leave a Comment

