The Silver Chain – Primula Bond

The silver chain

“Bound by passion, she was powerless to resist.

One dark evening in London, photographer Serena Folkes is indulging her impulsive side with a night-time shoot. But someone is watching her – mysterious entrepreneur Gustav Levi. Serena doesn’t know it yet, but this handsome stranger will change her life forever…

Serena is fascinated by Gustav, the enigmatic owner of the Levi Gallery, and she soon feels an irresistible pull of attraction. The interest is mutual, and Gustav promises to launch Serena’s photographic career at his gallery, but only if Serena agrees to become his exclusive companion.

To mark their agreement, Gustav gives Serena a bracelet to wear at all times. Attached to it is a silver chain of which he is the keeper. With the chain Gustav controls Serena physically and symbolically – a sign that she is under his power.

As their passionate relationship intensifies, Gustav’s hold on the silver chain grows stronger. But will Gustav’s dark past tear them apart?”

Firstly I’d like to thank the publishers for sending me this eBook to read and give an honest review.  The Silver Chain is the first in the Unbreakable Trilogy by Primula Bond who I recently interviewed on Me, My Books and I (interview here).

The first few pages indicated that Serena was boarding a train to run away from something or someone, this raised all sorts of questions in my mind which were mostly answered in the following pages.  She was attempting to chase her dreams of being a photographer and I really admired her for it.

A meeting on a dark Halloween night was eerie but exciting, I wanted to know more about the intriguing stranger and it was pretty clear that Serena did too.  I have to admit that I was surprised by how quickly everything progressed after this but it certainly managed to capture my interest with its fast pace so I suppose it wasn’t a bad thing!

For me it got really interesting when the agreement was being discussed (this is the part that fascinates me the most with books of this genre), I was keen to see Serena’s reaction to Gustav’s demands and enjoyed this crucial scene very much.  I also enjoyed the photography side of the story because I felt that it put a different spin on things.

I liked Serena most of the time, she had a difficult upbringing which was gradually revealed throughout the book.  Something I particularly enjoyed about her was her wandering mind – she often drifted off into fantasies even in the most inappropriate of places!  My opinion of Gustav also varied, I couldn’t quite figure him out but I was keen to uncover his secrets because he really intrigued me.

The author has a very atmospheric style of writing and, although it took a little getting used to, I thought it created an almost magical feeling.  The author also knows how to write a fabulously teasing cliffhanger – I absolutely couldn’t have predicted the twist at the end and now I’m left desperately wondering what happens next!

Warning:  The Silver Chain contained strong language and sexual scenes so if you are likely to be offended by this then it probably isn’t a book for you.

This was a sexy, intriguing book with a wonderful atmosphere.  I look forward to reading more from this author.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Primula Bond is an Oxford educated mother of three boys and has lived in Oxford, London and Cairo. She currently lives in Hampshire and works part time as a legal clerk for criminal defence lawyers as well as writing freelance features under her real name.  Her erotic novels include Country Pleasures, Club Crème and Behind The Curtain and dozens of short stories published by Virgin Books.  Her novella Sisters in Sin and various short stories are published by Mischief Books, and Xcite Books at Accent Press have published a solo collection of short stories Random Acts of Lust , and her novella Out of Focus.  Primula also offers a critique service for aspiring erotic and romantic writers through Writers Workshop.

To find out more:

Blog | Twitter

The Silver Chain is published by Avon Books.  It can be purchased from Amazon.co.uk.  For Amazon.com customers you can get a free sample here.

One thought on “The Silver Chain – Primula Bond

Please Leave a Comment

