Killer Queens – Rebecca Chance

Killer Queens

“Every little girl grows up dreaming of finding a prince – but what is the fairy tale turns into a right royal nightmare?

Lori is a beautiful, blonde, all-American athlete. When the charismatic ruler of a small, filthy rich European state asks for her hand, she thinks she’s snagged Prince Charming. But she soon realizes that all that glitters is not gold…

Belinda was once the most recognized and loved princess in the world. Forced to stage her own death, she lives incognito abroad with her adoring royal lover. Now, she is determined to return to England to see her son Hugo wed, even if it means risking her own life.

Chloe, Prince Hugo’s fiancée, is the archetypical English rose. But it’s a long road to becoming a princess, even when you’re dating the heir to the throne. Perhaps the fairy-tale ending isn’t all it was cracked up to be…

Killer queens, scheming kings, murder plots and lashings of steamy sex – find out what REALLY goes on behind closed palace doors.”

Firstly I’d like to thank ed pr for sending me this book to read and give an honest review.  I love books by this author (reviews here) so I couldn’t wait to see where I would be taken this time!

I was quickly pulled into the crazy world of royalty; each of the Princesses/Queens brought something different to the storyline and captured my interest with their dramas.  Belinda’s story began by taking me back twenty years with the fascinating tale of how she faked her own death.  I was interested to see how events in the present day would affect her.  I had a variety of reactions with Lori, one minute I felt sorry for her and the next irritated by her actions – I just had to yell at the book a couple of times when I thought she should have made better choices.  Chloe was my favourite character along with her best friend Lauren, they made such a fantastic comedy duo.  There was a hilarious moment involving the two friends that had me giggling uncontrollably – just look out for the scene where they watch some CCTV footage (I will say no more)!

Certain characters strongly reminded me of our own royal family and I couldn’t help but picture them as I read the book.  My imagination was teased with thoughts of royalty and their lavish lives but I was also shown the less glamorous side – some of the dramatic twists were simply shocking!  There was a particular twist towards the end that I just hadn’t seen coming, I loved it!

As always with this author’s books there was plenty of sexual scenes and strong language so if you are likely to be offended by this then it may not be a book for you.  I thought that these scenes were well written and none of them felt out-of-place so in my opinion they were an important part of the storyline.  I will just say though that I don’t think I’ll ever look at a banana in quite the same way again :D.

This was a fun and feisty read with plenty of action to keep you hooked, a classic Rebecca Chance sizzler!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Born in North London, Rebecca Chance read English Literature at Cambridge and wrote for various newspapers and music magazines before moving to Tuscany to learn Italian and to focus on writing books.  After eight years in Italy, she moved to Manhattan, where her experience of the New York dating scene inspired her non-fiction dating book Jane Austin’s Guide to Dating, which was featured on the Richard and Judy Book Club and published under the name Lauren Henderson.

Now back in the UK, Rebecca lives in London with her husband and has quickly made the bonkbuster genre her own, bringing the genre ‘bang’ up to date and, reflecting the trials and tribulations of both women and men, gay and straight, as she hones in on the outsized dreams and desires that we all covet.  Rebecca Chance’s bestselling novels include Divas, Bad SistersBad Girls, Killer Heels and Bad Angels.

To find out more:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest

Killer Queens was published by Simon & Schuster on 8th August 2013, it can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

Please Leave a Comment

