Sophie’s Encore – Nicky Wells – Blog Tour

Its’ time to Rock And Roll in earnest! Yes, Nicky Wells is here to celebrate the upcoming launch of Sophie’s Encore. Three cheers for the third book in her Rock Star Romance Trilogy!!!

Says Nicky,
“I’m so excited to share with you, finally, this third installment in Sophie and Dan’s epic romance! Thank you for coming to celebrate with me. Read on for:
The blurb!
Kate’s review 
The guest post
The fantabulous giveaway!
But most of all, enjoy yourself and party hard! Are you ready?”

Sophies_Encore

“Her rock star is waiting in the wings, but will he get a second chance?

It’s all change for Sophie Jones—only this time, there is more at stake than just her happiness.

Rock star extraordinaire, Dan Hunter, has been her patient and caring friend through the highs and lows since her wedding day, but now he figures it is time for her to start over. By stealth, the rock singer draws Sophie into the behind-the-scenes work for his band’s latest album. Through the days and weeks spent together at the mixing desk, Sophie discovers whole new horizons for her life, yet before she can even begin to explore them, she faces the very real threat of losing her rock star for good.

Join Sophie and Dan in Sophie’s Encore to find out how their journey will end…”

Sophie’s Encore will be available in Kindle and Nook formats as well as paperback editions from Amazon and Barnes & Noble from
5 September 2013!

You can already add Sophie’s Encore to your TBR on Goodreads! What’s more, if you’re in the UK, Canada or US, you can enter to win one of two paperbacks of Sophie’s Encore on Goodreads right up to launch day, 5 September!

MY REVIEW

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me this ARC to read and give an honest review.  I really enjoyed the first two books in the trilogy (my reviews can be found here) and I was excited to finally find out how it would all end but I also felt sad that there would be no more of Sophie’s adventures to follow.

This is a difficult review to write because there is only so much I can say without giving too much away, I will try my best though…

At the end of the last book there was a wedding and an exciting announcement.  A girly chat between Sophie and her friend Rachel at the beginning of this book revealed so much, some of which I struggled to comprehend (my jaw totally hit the floor).  Once it all sank in I quickly found myself immersed in this fabulous story – I just love how Nicky still managed to surprise me after three books!

Sophie’s life had moved on quite dramatically in good ways and in bad, the difficult parts were superbly written as the strength of her feelings jumped off the page at me and left tears pouring down my face. Dan was his usual charming and swoon-worthy, rock star self and their friendship was even more complicated this time round (something I didn’t think was possible), although I will say that I think their connection was stronger than ever too.

As always I enjoyed the musical side, the lessons in mixing and mastering were fascinating – I had no idea so much went into the whole process!

There were many ups and downs that kept me entertained throughout, some of my favourite moments included: an amusing fact about snails, a very merry Christmas, an interesting new use for a guitar case and a magical theme park holiday.  Towards the end I kind of knew what was about to happen but despite this it still managed to take my breath away!

I feel as though I was taken full circle with this book in a way that was fitting for such a great series. Seeing Sophie grow through each of the books has been wonderful and the beautiful epilogue left me smiling with happiness for her.

Sophie’s Encore was totally unexpected but in a very good way, this series finished with a bang and I would highly recommend it to anyone who has ever had a crush on a star :).

GUEST POST

Happy, exhilarated, bereft. Or: how it feels to finish a Trilogy.

It’s done. My third book, Sophie’s Encore, has hit the virtual shelves. The long-awaited conclusion to the epic romance between my girl-next-door, Sophie, and rock star extraordinaire, Dan, is written and published for the world to see. I’m not saying how it’s gonna end but… You wanted to know how it feels to get to The End. Well, let me see….

The beginning of the end: the writing of Sophie’s Encore

Monday, 8 October 2012. 9:30 am.

Cup of tea—check.
Laptop at the ready—check.
Plotline tacked to the wall—check.

I start typing. “So how is Dan?”

To my great surprise, I find that my hands are shaking. This is it. I’m going to bring the story to an end. I’m starting on the last leg of the journey, and I’m frightened. I know where I’m going, of course, but what will I do when I get there?

Sophie, Dan and me: Long-time friends

For eight years now, Sophie and Dan have lived in my head. For the past two years, they’ve been my and my family’s constant companion. Between us, we have talked about them as though they were real persons. But when I’m done, I’ll have to say goodbye. I hate goodbyes.

Still, there’s nothing for it but to forge ahead, so I start writing fast and furiously. As I’m working my way through my meticulous plan, I make some astounding discoveries.

The devil and the detail and all that…

First of all, chronology matters. Doh, right? Evidently I’ve planned the Trilogy in great detail, and still things trip me up. Ages, mostly. Sophie was 28 when the Trilogy started, and Dan was 38. They had birthdays ‘in between’ books and also quite prominently in Sophie’s Run, when Sophie celebrates her 30th birthday with astounding consequences, and Dan his 40th with ditto.

But time’s moved on. More birthdays have been had and other life-changing events have transpired. I find myself referring back to Sophie and Dan’s early romance as having been seven years ago. Oh, hang on, wasn’t it eight? Or maybe nine? *Cue nail-biting* Turns out that counting back in years yields a slightly different answer than counting back in ages.

My solution? More planning. I make a large table with twelve columns for months and several rows for years passed. I mark birthdays. I make the start and end of each book. I mark key events. I figure it out.

Next up, I’ve grown. My outlook has changed, and my perspective on Sophie and Dan’s fate has changed. Moreover, narrated time between books has passed, so Sophie herself has grown. I decide to tackle that issue head-on by having Sophie, Dan and Rachel reflect on how things are different for them, now.

I get so involved in fine-tuning these last details that I completely forget about the pain of goodbye as I feverishly approach the finishing line.

Done, done, done!

It’s end of January 2013 by the time I finish Sophie’s Encore. While I don’t exactly write the words, “The End”, I definitely know that this is the end, and do you know what? I shed a little tear or three. Happy tears, I hasten to add. And proud tears. I feel bereft and exhilarated at the same time.

Onwards and upwards

To stem the floods, I move on immediately. I start planning book 4; a new book, a new story, new characters, a fresh start. I mock up a cover for Sophie’s Encore. I launch Sophie’s Run. I conceive of a completely unscheduled mini-project that gets planned, written and completed in the space of four or five weeks. I edit Sophie’s Encore. I start writing book 4. See? There’s no standing still here, the only way is forward. I’ve dried those tears and launched myself headlong into new adventures.

So watch out, here I come! I have a surprise for you later this year, and my fourth full-length book, Fallen For Rock, is scheduled for release in the summer of 2014. Meanwhile, happy reading of Sophie’s Encore! I’d love to hear what you think!!

ROCK ON!

Party Time — The PARTY!!

Join in the release day fun and mark 5 September in your calendar now! Nicky will be partying
On her blog
On Facebook
On Twitter — #SophiesEncore

Party Time — The GIVEAWAY!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1 x signed Sophie’s Encore Poster
2 x Sophie’s Encore Mugs
1 x Sophie’s Run Mug
1 x $10 Amazon Gift Voucher (or equivalent currency)
2 x Sophie’s Encore Key Ring
1 x Sophie’s Run Key Ring
2 x “Swag Pack” featuring 2 postcards (1 signed) each for all three Rock Star Romance books, and 2 bookmarks each for Sophie’s Turn and Sophie’s Run

ENTER HERE: a Rafflecopter giveaway

The giveaway is open NOW and closes 30 September at 12 midnight BST.
Entrants must be 18 or over. Giveaway is open internationally.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Nicky_NEWAuthorPic_April12_useforwebsiteNicky Wells is your ultimate rock chick author. Signed to US Publisher, Sapphire Star Publishing, Nicky writes Romance That Rocks Your World, featuring the rock star and the girl next door. Nicky’s books offer glitzy, glamorous contemporary romance with a rock theme ~ imagine Bridget Jones ROCKS Notting Hill!

Born in Germany, Nicky moved to the United Kingdom in 1993 and currently lives in Lincoln. In a previous professional life, Nicky worked as a researcher and project manager for an international Human Resources research firm based in London and Washington, D.C. Like her leading lady, Sophie, Nicky loves listening to rock music, dancing, and eating lobsters. When she’s not writing, she’s a wife, mother, occasional knitter, and regular contributor to The Midweek Drive show on Lincoln’s Siren 107.3 FM. Rock on!

Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Romantic Novelists’ Association | Sapphire Star Publishing | Amazon | Goodreads | Pinterest

NickyWells_Border_

Find Nicky’s Rock Star Romance Trilogy here:

Part 1~Sophie’s Turn: So the rock star wants to marry her, but she’s already engaged…
AMAZON.CO.UK | AMAZON.COMBARNES & NOBLE

Part 2~Sophie’s Run: Her famous star remains her rock while life takes her on a little detour…
AMAZON.CO.UK | AMAZON.COM | BARNES & NOBLE

Part 3 – Sophie’s Encore: Her rock star is waiting in the wings, but will he get a second chance?…

Amazon.co.uk Kindle | Amazon.co.uk Paperback | Amazon.com Kindle |Amazon.com Paperback | Barnes & Noble Paperback | Nook

*Nicky waves*

“Whoa! What a party! I hope you enjoyed yourself. Thank you again for stopping by Me, My Books and I today to help me celebrate. Happy reading and rock on! And don’t forget to say ‘hi’, I’d love to hear from you and I will come back to chat later!”

Remember, remember: the 5th of September is Launch Day for Sophie’s Encore!!

18 thoughts on “Sophie’s Encore – Nicky Wells – Blog Tour

  1. Great post. It’s tough to leave those characters behind, but I have no doubt you did them justice in book three. Thanks for sharing, Nicky! Good luck on the release. Thanks for hosting Nicky, Kate, and for your review! I’m looking forward to this one…

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Steph! It is tough ~ but it was the right call. And hey, they’ll stay with me forever, that’s the beauty of book-friends! Thank you for visiting here and for all your enthusiastic support. You rock! X

      Like

  2. Kate! I managed to take your breath away…and I left you with a smile on your face at the end. Wow! What a wonderful reaction, I’m delighted! Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Encore and for hosting this blog stop here today ahead of ‘official’ release day. You are an angel and a rock star for all the support you give, and it means the world to me. ROCK ON!

    Here’s wishing good luck to all giveaway entrants. And don’t forget to look out for the Encore in two days’ time… only two days, squeee!

    Like

    1. Yay, it’s so exciting!! It’s always a pleasure to have you on my blog Nicky, I really do love this trilogy and feel sad to see it end but I’m also looking forward to your future work and the places I’ll be taken with them 🙂

      Like

  3. Fabulous post, Nicky, and good to read that “Keep Calm and Carry On Writing” has helped you move on from Sophie’s and Dan’s world! I hope to use the same approach when we finish our trilogy!

    Great review, Kate – thanks SO much for your spoiler-free review, as I am really looking forward to reading Sophie’s Encore and loathe spoilers! You did a great job!

    Can’t wait for the party! Dying to get Dan to myself for a mo – oh, wait, there’s a queue?! 😮

    Like

    1. Thank you for stopping by Joanna, I’m glad I didn’t spoil the storyline for you – I always try not to but sometimes it’s difficult to say what you think without giving too much away! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did 🙂

      Like

Please Leave a Comment

