From Notting Hill to New York… Actually – Ali McNamara

Notting hill to new york actually

“Scarlett O’Brien, utterly addicted to romantic films, has found her leading man. She’s convinced Sean is Mr Right, but the day-to-day reality of a relationship isn’t quite like the movies. With Sean constantly away on business, Scarlett and her new best friend Oscar decide to head to New York for the holiday of a lifetime. 

From one famous landmark to the next, Scarlett and Oscar make many new friends during their adventure – including sailors in town for Fleet Week, a famous film star, and Jamie and Max, a TV reporter and cameraman. Scarlett finds herself strangely drawn to Jamie, they appear to have much in common: a love of films and Jamie’s search for a parent he never knew. But Scarlett has to ask herself why she is reacting like this to another man when she’s so in love with Sean . . .”

I really enjoyed the first book From Notting Hill With Love… Actually (review here) so I was very much looking forward to the next part of Scarlett’s story.

Scarlett’s life with Sean didn’t appear to be what she thought it would be; although they still had great chemistry I think she had started to get bored with the mundane day-to-day reality of the relationship.   I loved them as a couple so I felt rather concerned about her feelings and I hoped it would be something they could work out.

When Scarlett arrived in New York I could almost feel her excitement about the trip.  Oscar played an even bigger part this time and I was thrilled about that because I thoroughly enjoyed his contribution to the last book.  He was such a wonderful character and I found it so easy to visualise him in his colourful attire.  I particularly enjoyed his crazy behaviour at the sailor party they attended.

A mysterious brooch was the starting point for her whole adventure and once again Scarlett found herself in all sorts of tricky situations, some of my favourite moments included: a misunderstanding at the TV studio, hairy fun at the Empire State Building, a hangover that revealed an unwelcome surprise, a tense picnic in the park and a fantastic treasure hunt!

There were so many laughs and although I guessed what the twist would be quite early on in the book I still enjoyed the journey to get there.  I ended the book with a great big ‘awwwwww’ because it was such a romantic moment and I hope for more from these characters in the future.

This was action-packed, fun and romantic. Another hit from Ali McNamara!

Purchase the book:

The Book DepositoryAmazon.co.uk | Amazon.com

To find out more about Ali McNamara:

Website | Twitter | Facebook 

2 thoughts on “From Notting Hill to New York… Actually – Ali McNamara

Please Leave a Comment

