Do You Remember? – Mandy Baggot

Do you remember

“First Love. First Loss. Last chance?

2005 was the most traumatic year of Emma Barron’s life. It was the year her mother died and the year she met Guy Duval. Eight years on, she’s an English teacher with a doting boyfriend and a young son. Life’s been hard but now it’s comfortable. She’s settled and content…so why would she risk it all for another chance with the man that broke her heart?

Guy’s an international renowned footballer newly signed to a top UK team. But behind the confident facade is a man determined to drown the horrors from his childhood with fame, success and money.

Unable to confide in her best friend, Ally, Emma tries to hold her life together as her heart is pulled apart. Did she turn her back on love too soon?

Neither of them know what really happened on 5 September 2005 and as events are slowly revealed can anyone cope with the truth?”

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me this eBook to read and give an honest review.  If you’re a regular reader of my blog then you’ll know just how much I enjoy Mandy’s books and this was no exception, I was captivated by Emma and Guy’s story and read it from start to finish in just a few hours (it was a very late night for me :)).  I couldn’t stop reading, I simply had to know what happened in 2005 to cause so much heartache!

The story began in France with a lovely encounter between the young Emma and Guy, I was given some brief details about the death of Emma’s mother and this made me feel quite protective of her very quickly.  The present day Emma seemed to be settled but not entirely happy when her past was suddenly brought back to her – this sent a wave of questions crashing through my mind and so began my quest to find out the truth about 5 September 2005.

The storyline alternated between the present day and 2005, I was treated to snippets of the time Emma and Guy spent together in France and this meant that I gradually connected all the dots to get the full picture at the end of the book.  I always enjoy reading both sides of the story so getting inside Guy’s head and knowing his thoughts was particularly exciting for me, especially seeing as he was a hot, sexy French footballer.

Towards the end there were little moments that suggested something sinister had taken place, this side of the storyline was unexpected but riveting – by this point I was desperate to find out what the big secret was!  As always with Mandy’s books there was a lighter side so I laughed and smiled many times throughout, I just loved that everything was ‘on skis’ and have already found myself saying it to my children (this will make complete sense when you read the book :D).

Mandy has the natural ability to capture you and pull you into the storyline so that it feels like you’re there alongside the characters and this is one of the reasons I enjoy her books so much, it makes my reading experience much more exciting.

This was a captivating read filled with romance and secrets, another hit for the fabulous Mandy Baggot!

Do You Remember? is published by Harper Impulse and is available to buy from Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com.

To find out more about Mandy Baggot click on the following links:

Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook | Pinterest | Loveahappyending Bookshelf | The Romance Reviews  | Romantic Novelists’ Association | Sapphire Star Publishing | Harper Impulse 

To read all my Mandy Baggot reviews click here

10 thoughts on “Do You Remember? – Mandy Baggot

  1. Thank you so much for that fantastic review, Kate. I’m so pleased readers are enjoying this book. I became so involved in writing Emma and Guy’s story and all an author wishes for is that people will be drawn in too!

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

