You Had Me At Hello – Mhairi McFarlane

You had me at hello

“What happens when the one that got away comes back? Find out in this sparkling debut from Mhairi McFarlane.

‘Think of the great duos of history. We’re just like them.’
‘You mean like Kylie and Jason? Torvill and Dean? Sonny and Cher?’
‘I think you’ve missed the point, Rachel.’

Rachel and Ben. Ben and Rachel. It was them against the world. Until it all fell apart. It’s been a decade since they last spoke, but when Rachel bumps into Ben one rainy day, the years melt away.

They’d been partners in crime and the best of friends. But life has moved on: Ben is married. Rachel is not. Yet in that split second, Rachel feels the old friendship return. And along with it, the broken heart she’s never been able to mend.

Hilarious, heartbreaking and everything in between, you’ll be hooked from their first ‘hello’.”

I had read so many rave reviews for this book that I just had to find out for myself what all the fuss was about.  Well oh my goodness, I completely agree with the rave reviews because I loved it!  Just as the blurb above says, I was absolutely hooked from their first hello (even before that actually but never mind).  The prologue started the book beautifully, a scene from their Uni days told me so much about Ben, Rachel and their friendship in just a few pages.  I laughed out loud and smiled a big smile – I literally couldn’t ask for more from a prologue.

The story then moved through the years to the present day and Rachel’s long-term relationship was not going well, I loved how the author turned this explosive event into something amusing and entertaining for the reader.  Throughout the book there were more flashbacks to Rachel’s time at University and I was treated to teasing little snippets of information that eventually pieced together to reveal the truth of what happened all those years ago.

Rachel’s group of friends were also very entertaining and I enjoyed their fun conversations immensely.  I found it easy to connect to each of the characters which meant that I felt close to the action, I was almost able to feel the emotions that they were giving off in the various situations they were in.

I thoroughly enjoyed following Rachel on her new path in life, there was plenty of drama to keep me turning the pages and the natural writing style made it easy for me to do that.  Some of my favourite moments in the book included: a sneaky visit to the library, two very interesting housewarming parties, a sleepover with a difference and a wedding that came with very posh portaloos!

This was a wonderful read – funny and romantic with a twist of life’s little problems.  I can’t recommend this book highly enough!

You Had Me At Hello can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Mhairi McFarlane:

Blog | Twitter | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “You Had Me At Hello – Mhairi McFarlane

    1. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! I always save a couple of spaces for my own books because I have so many stacked up and I’d never get through them all otherwise 🙂

      Thank you for commenting x

      Like

Please Leave a Comment

