After Obsession – Carrie Jones and Steven E. Wedel

After obsession

“Aimee and Alan have secrets.  They both have intriguing pasts and abilities they prefer to keep hidden.  But when their lives intersect in a cold Maine town, they can’t stop their secrets from spilling out.  Strange things have been happening, and they both feel strongly that something, or someone, is haunting them.

But it’s actually another friend, Courtney, who’s truly in trouble.  In a desperate plea to find her missing father, she has invited a demon into her life – and into her body.  Aimee and Alan can only exorcise the ghost together.  And they have to move quickly, before it devours not just their friend, but everything around her…”

I remember reading a review for this book and thinking it sounded interesting so I added it to my wish list and bought it when I was on a book buying spree (I don’t manage too many of those lately but they’re always epic when I do :)).

To begin with I learned about Aimee and her abilities, I immediately got the feeling that she considered them a curse though and I guess part of me could understand why.  Her friend Courtney was going through a difficult time but I really liked her – her pen story actually made me choke on my drink! Unfortunately as the story progressed and darker things took over her fun personality changed, I wondered if she would ever go back to her old bubbly self.

Alan seemed like a tough character, he was very intriguing particularly when his Indian side shone through.  He was Courtney’s cousin and this inevitably led to him meeting Aimee.  This was where the romantic side of the story came in to play – they were clearly drawn to one another, even though Aimee already had a boyfriend, and I found their connection exciting to read especially seeing as the story was told from both of their perspectives.  Their blossoming relationship brought a touch of lightness to an otherwise dark book and that was something I appreciated.

There were some rather eerie moments which mainly centered around a river, this got my heart pounding and creeped me out a little bit but not so badly that I couldn’t sleep or anything (unlike some other books I’ve read).  The school setting gave it a young atmosphere and the fresh writing style was a pleasure to read.

This was an interesting book, very enjoyable and different.

After Obsession can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

Please Leave a Comment

