Ceri’s Journey: Angels – Linn B. Halton

Ceris journey Angels

“Ceri thinks she sees angels…everywhere. She struggles to keep separate what feels like two very different sides to her life. As a manager in an advertising company she’s been working with the gorgeous Alex for two years. They have a friendship based upon the image she portrays whilst she’s at work and it helps to keep her sane. One mad, crazy night spent sharing their secrets, and a lot of wine, result in them ending up in bed together. When Alex explains that the reason he doesn’t date is because someone broke his heart, how can Ceri admit that she feels a deep connection to him?

Ceri’s purpose here on this plane is to correct a series of incidents that alter the course of some people’s lives. She’s simply putting right little errors that could ripple outwards and change the course of their destiny. But how can she prove that she really has made a difference? Is it all in her head?

She’s alone for a reason; she’s not meant to fall in love in her earthly life. Alex is supposed to cross Ceri’s path and help her during a phase where she begins to question the signs she’s being given. It’s meant to be a turning point for them both–but in opposite directions. They are destined to travel very different paths, but Ceri doesn’t know that and neither does Alex…”

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me this ARC to read and give an honest review.  I have previously enjoyed some of Linn’s other books and you can find my reviews of these here.  This book is part one in a fascinating series of three novellas about Ceri’s Journey.

The very first sentence captured my interest because it mentioned Ceri’s ability to see angels – angels and the afterlife have always intrigued me so I knew from just one line that I would be hooked on Ceri’s story.  It was obvious from the start that she had received plenty of negative feedback about her ability and it made me feel sad that she had to suppress her instinctive need to talk about it, if I were in Ceri’s position I would definitely want to share my experiences!  The first angel sighting that was mentioned gave me chills as I was able to visualise it so clearly and the goosebumps continued with each sighting thereafter (I’m such a scaredy-cat).

Ceri had a non-identical twin brother called Seb who was not afraid to tell her what he thought about her ability, he certainly wasn’t a believer so Ceri kept her feelings to herself even when she knew that Seb’s life was about to be thrown into turmoil in some way.

I liked how Ceri admitted to becoming a different version of herself whenever she walked into the office of the advertising company she worked for, I think everyone has different versions of themselves for different situations so this really got me thinking about the various versions of me :).

Ceri was a wonderful character, she used her ability to help people and I admired her for that but whenever she wasn’t able to help someone she felt incredibly guilty.  It was during those times that I wanted to reach into the book and give her a hug to make her feel better!

There was a great mix of supporting characters, I particularly liked Alex who worked with Ceri because he seemed fun – I could easily picture him in my mind and I loved the good effect he had on Ceri.  However, as the story progressed his behaviour began to confuse me, not in a bad way but in a ‘I have to know why he’s acting like that‘ kind of way.  This was why I felt so relieved when I got to read from Alex’s perspective, I was surprised and intrigued by what I discovered about him – this is exactly why I love to read a story from both sides, I think it really opens up the storyline.

Once again the authors descriptive writing made me feel like I was living the story instead of just reading it, so expect to feel a variety of emotions as you follow Ceri on her journey.  The end left my heart pounding furiously, I had all sorts of questions and possible theories racing through my mind so I can’t wait to find out what happens next in Ceri’s Journey: Truth.

This was a spiritual, emotional and thought-provoking read with a touch of romance, a great start to an intriguing series!

Ceri’s Journey: Angels is available to purchase now:

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com

LINN’S LINKS

Linn B Halton bookshelf

Website

Twitter: @LinnBHalton

Facebook:  Linn B Halton and Author Linn B Halton

Amazon.co.uk (buy)

Amazon.com (buy)

Pinterest

Loveahappyending Lifestyle feature editor

Signed by: Sapphire Star Publishing

Romantic Novelists’ Association page

Pop over to loveahappyending.com today for details of how to win an angel of your very own!

24 thoughts on “Ceri’s Journey: Angels – Linn B. Halton

  1. What a way to begin the formal launch day! Thanks so much, not only for the fabulous review, but for your feedback that really helped me steer parts 1 & 2! I now have an inkling about how it will end… but I will be running part 3 past you before the ink is dry…Lxx

    Like

  2. A great review, Kate and I too LOVE Linn’s books! They really do get you thinking and question your beliefs BUT they are also very easy reading and the characters are always a pleasure to get to know!

    Like

  3. This was a great review, Kate! I enjoyed this book as well and always love Linn’s characters. Happy launch day, Linn!

    Like

    1. Thank you for stopping by Miriam!

      And Linn it’s funny you should mention writing because I’ve actually been writing my own little story for the past few months – not regularly but every now and then something comes to mind and I add it to the growing pile of pages 🙂 It’s a lot of fun!

      Like

  4. Another book I’m reaaaaallllly looking forward to reading, and I’m sure I’ll find lots in the storyline to connect with personally!

    Great review, Kate (as always) and I agree, Linn’s books are always fabulous – she’s one of my favourite authors!

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

