Love is a Number – Lee Monroe

Love is a number

“When her beloved boyfriend Huck dies, Eloise is wrecked. The ultimate golden couple, she will never find love as perfect ever again. But then Eloise begins to unravel her ‘perfect’ relationship and finds she has questions. And so, angry and sad, she texts Huck’s phone as if he can receive her messages from beyond the grave.

She never expected to get a reply …

Dan is travelling Spain in one last hurrah before uni and real life kick in. He’s ready for love, but not of the casual kind. He’s not met a girl that’s set his world alight. But he’s ready for her when she decides to make an appearance.

One night on his travels, Dan discovers an abandoned phone.
He pockets it, then forgets about it.

He never expected it to ring …

Firstly I’d like to thank Hachette Children’s Books for sending me this book to read and give an honest review.  I loved the Dark Heart series (review here) by the same author so I was very keen to start reading this one which is her latest book.

It seemed to take me a while to really get into the story, about halfway through it definitely got more interesting and it was at this point I became hooked, by the time I got to the last few pages I just didn’t want it to end – it was so adorable!

For me Eloise was an up and down character – there were times I really liked her and thought she was very sweet but there were also times (mainly at the beginning) when I simply couldn’t take to her.  I loved Daniel pretty much as soon as I met him – he was wonderfully honest and a little bit shy.  I couldn’t wait for the interaction between these two characters to start and when it did I found myself smiling at the cuteness of it all :).

Eloise’s grief after Huck had died was superbly described, her life had been completely turned upside down, learning about their time as a couple initially made me feel sad for her but I soon got the impression that all was not as perfect as it first seemed.  Eloise’s mother and so-called friends were all rather irritating, I definitely rolled my eyes a lot at the things they said and did.

Daniel was quite an amusing character, I hadn’t been expecting humour from this book so that was a welcome surprise. I particularly enjoyed the times when he was trying to be more of a bad boy than the clean-cut lad everyone thought/knew he was.  The author wrote about the tidal wave of teenage insecurities clearly and concisely, this is what makes it such a great read for teens!

I loved the texting parts of the book (always a favourite of mine), I was eagerly awaiting each message to see if my predictions were going to be right.

This was a sweet, romantic read that took a while to warm up but left me smiling!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Lee Monroe was born in London, but spent a short time living by the sea with her family when she was a teenager. She moved back to the heart of the city as soon as she could, and now lives in Westminster. Lee was an obsessive reader as a child, and still is. She has worked in publishing and contributed to, and ghost-written books.

Love is a Number is published by Hodder Children’s Books on 4 July 2013 and can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

Please Leave a Comment

