The Pleasures of Summer – Evie Hunter

The pleasures of summer

“Summer O’Sullivan is rich, beautiful and in mortal danger. Her father has made powerful enemies who are targeting his precious daughter. Until the threat passes, Summer needs a bodyguard – someone to protect her and, she expects, to treat her with the reverence she’s used to. 

Into Summer’s gilded cage comes former ranger, Flynn Grant. As far as Flynn is concerned, this is the assignment from hell, minding the spoilt daughter of a multi-millionaire. Summer and Flynn are poised to hate each other on sight. Even his devastating looks do not make up for how Flynn’s rules cramp Summer’s style. Unsurprisingly, the sparks fly between them. But when Summer breaks the rules one time too often, Flynn teaches her a lesson that leaves them shattered – and bound together in a way that astonishes them both. 

In their remote hideout, the two start a battle over who is the tamer, and who is the tamed. It’s a duel that stretches their minds and bodies beyond every limit. And in time their hearts begin to surrender too.

But when the dark forces that have been stalking Summer finally track them down, the battle is no longer a game, but a matter of life and death …”

Firstly I’d like to thank the publishers Penguin Ireland for sending me this book to read and give an honest review.  I previously read and reviewed The Pleasures of Winter and A Touch of Winter both of which I really enjoyed so I was definitely looking forward to reading this one.

The prologue was tense and full of action, it set the scene well – I was immediately thinking of questions: Who was the guy in the van? Why was he after Summer? What happened next?  It was clear even from that point that I would be hooked by this storyline!

Six months later and Summer was still facing security issues so her father put his foot down and demanded that she have a bodyguard.  I had a bit of a chuckle as Summer proceeded to get rid of a string of bodyguards one by one using some very sneaky tactics.  Then came the sexy and powerful Flynn, someone who was not going to be quite so easy to get rid of.

I have to admit that I wasn’t too sure about Summer to begin with, she seemed too spoilt and manipulative for my liking – I just couldn’t relate to any side of her at the start.  I soon realised though that her attitude and rebellious streak was mostly a front put on for other people’s benefit and inside she wasn’t half as confident.  Her initial curiosity into the world of Doms and Subs got her into a dangerous situation which put her off a bit but not completely, it was obviously a desire that was deep-rooted so I knew it wouldn’t be long before the issue came up again.

I absolutely loved the feisty chemistry and battles for power between Summer and Flynn, they were definitely well matched and this made their time together fun to read (they were very entertaining and I found myself laughing quite a few times when they clashed).

The writing style was captivating, it drew me in so that it felt like I was part of the book too.  These authors certainly know how to write good erotic fiction because once again the sexual parts were sizzling hot but I didn’t feel like they overwhelmed the actual storyline – this is important to me when reading this genre, it has to be about more than just the sex!

I was utterly gripped by the action-packed events leading up to the end, it was so exciting and really got my heart pounding.  This will be added to my one-day read list because I just couldn’t put it down and I can easily say that Evie Hunter’s books are so much better than the Fifty Shades series thanks to the fantastic storylines and wonderful characters.

Warning: The Pleasures of Summer contained strong language and sexual scenes so if you are likely to be offended by this then it probably isn’t a book for you.

This was another sizzling read with an exciting, dangerous twist – I would definitely recommend it!

The Pleasures of Summer can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

Also available by Evie Hunter is the standalone erotic short story A Touch of Summer which I have waiting on my Kindle to read and review soon!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Evie Hunter is actually two authors Caroline McCall and Eileen Gormley who met at a creative writing workshop in 2010.  On discovering that they shared a passion for erotic fiction, they became the best of friends.  In early 2012 they got a chance to co-write a series of erotic novellas for an online publisher. When they completed the second one without killing each other, they decided to take on something bigger.  Eventually, they emerged into daylight, clutching The Pleasures of Winter, saying ‘never again’. Thankfully they soon forgot the agony and The Pleasures of Summer is the result of their second marathon writing adventure.

To find out more:

Website | Twitter | Facebook

Please Leave a Comment

