Traces of Kara – Melissa Foster – Blog Tour and Giveaway

Today I’m delighted to be taking part in the book tour for Traces of Kara by Melissa Foster.  Thank you to Fiction Addiction Book Tours for sending me the eBook.

Traces of Kara

“Kara Knight can’t wait to leave her hometown for the promise of nursing school and a fresh start on her future–leaving behind an over protective mother, a broken heart and painful memories. However, twenty-five miles away, the twin she doesn’t know exists is determined to be reunited with the sister he cannot forget.

Kara is abducted and thrown into her obsessive captor’s delusional world. As the past she thought she knew unravels around her, Kara struggles to make sense of the memories that come creeping back, threatening her sanity and her safety. Meanwhile, Kara’s mother races against time to save the daughter she fears she will lose when a long-held secret is revealed. The hours tick away as her captor plays out his plan–to take Kara with him into death at the exact moment of their birth, never to be separated again.”

As you may have noticed on Me, My Books and I, I don’t often read books from this genre.  For me to want to read this kind of book the blurb has to really jump out at me and that is exactly what Traces of Kara did – I was super intrigued and wanted to know more!

Straight away I was sucked into the dark and dangerous atmosphere but as I read about Kara’s plans for her future the darkness changed to a feeling of hope.  I knew what was coming so I was on the edge of my seat just waiting for something to happen and when the moment came my heart was pounding furiously.  What followed was intense and creepy, Kara’s fear as she faced her terrifying ordeal was almost palpable and reading about what was going through her mind made me feel like I was with her every step of the way.

Roland was a complex character who created a mixture of emotions within me, his thoughts were fascinating but harrowing and I really felt as though I had climbed into the mind of a crazed killer.  He clearly had some serious psychological problems which occasionally (not very often) made me feel sad for him, he genuinely did love his sister but was unable to see that what he was doing was very wrong.

As the body count went up and more people became involved I was gripped by the panic and desperation that filtered through, particularly from Kara’s mother who, as any mother would, fought so hard to protect her daughter.  When all the pieces of the puzzle finally fell into place I was holding my breath wondering who would survive and who wouldn’t but I won’t tell you the answer to that, you’ll have to read it and find out :P.  However, I will say that the last few words of the epilogue gave me chills – I wasn’t expecting that!

This was a tense, gripping read that really got my heart pounding.

Traces of Kara is published by World Literary Press and is available to buy from Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

melissa fosterMelissa Foster is the award-winning author of four International bestselling novels. Her books have been recommended by USA Today’s book blog, Hagerstown Magazine, The Patriot, and several other print venues. She is the founder of the Women’s Nest, a social and support community for women, the World Literary Café. When she’s not writing, Melissa helps authors navigate the publishing industry through her author training programs on Fostering Success. Melissa has been published in Calgary’s Child Magazine, the Huffington Post, and Women Business Owners magazine.

Melissa hosts an annual Aspiring Authors contest for children and has painted and donated several murals to The Hospital for Sick Children in Washington, DC. Melissa lives in Maryland with her family.

Visit Melissa on The Women’s NestFostering Success, or World Lit Cafe.

To find out more about Melissa Foster click on the following links:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Goodreads

GIVEAWAY

You also have the chance to win a paperback copy of Traces of Kara by clicking on the Rafflecopter link below and following the instructions:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Good luck!

fabt-postcard

5 thoughts on “Traces of Kara – Melissa Foster – Blog Tour and Giveaway

  1. Thanks for the review, Kate! I don’t know if I’m gutsy enough to read this one, but it looks so cool! Congratulations Melissa!

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

