From Notting Hill With Love… Actually – Ali McNamara

With love actually

“She was just a girl, standing in front of a boy . . . wishing he looked more like Hugh Grant. 

Scarlett loves the movies. But does she love sensible fiancé David just as much? With a big white wedding on the horizon, Scarlett really should have decided by now . . . 

When she has the chance to house-sit in Notting Hill – the setting of one of her favourite movies – Scarlett jumps at the chance. But living life like a movie is trickier than it seems, especially when her new neighbour Sean is so irritating. And so irritatingly handsome, too. 

Scarlett soon finds herself starring in a romantic comedy of her very own: but who will end up as the leading man?”

This was one of those books that I had heard lots of good things about but never actually got round to reading it, well I’ve finally read it and this is what I thought…

When I first met Scarlett she had just arrived in London where she was pretty much expecting to walk into a scene from her favourite movie Notting Hill.  Her excitement at seeing buildings and roads that she recognised from the film really made me smile.  It wasn’t long before she bumped into a grumpy Londoner and an absolutely fabulous character called Oscar who I liked instantly.

I loved the clever way in which the author described the events that led to Scarlett going to London, the tale was beautifully woven into the storyline in a conversational manner that captivated me as much as it did Oscar!  I must admit that Scarlett’s fiance David wasn’t painted in the best light and I really struggled to like him even if I did feel a bit sorry for him sometimes.

Scarlett was a lovely character, I’m a bit of a daydreamer myself so I could definitely relate to that side of her personality.  During her quest to live out some of her favourite movie scenes she somehow got thrown together with her London neighbour Sean.  I loved the irritation that sparked between them to begin with and even though their friendship was a little predictable at times I still found myself surprised by some of the moments in between.

There were some wonderful scenes in France, my favourite being Scarlett’s time in Disneyland Paris because it brought back so many memories of my own trip there.  The author successfully teased my imagination with her descriptive writing so that I could almost imagine I was there alongside Scarlett!

I laughed out loud a fair few times whilst reading this book but towards the end I also found my eyes filling with tears as the storyline became sentimental and touching.  The final pages were incredible and so much better than I had expected, I can’t wait to read the sequel From Notting Hill to New York… Actually which is currently sat on my bookshelf waiting for its turn to be read :).

This was a fabulous read – romantic escapism at its very best!

From Notting Hill With Love… Actually can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Ali McNamara:

Website | Twitter | Facebook 

7 thoughts on “From Notting Hill With Love… Actually – Ali McNamara

Please Leave a Comment

