Insurgent – Veronica Roth

Insurgent

“Fighting for survival in a shattered world… the truth is her only hope.

I have done bad things. I can’t take them back, and they are part of who I am.

Tris has survived a brutal attack on her former home and family. But she has paid a terrible price. Wracked by grief and guilt, she becomes ever more reckless as she struggles to accept her new future.

Yet if Tris wants to uncover the truth about her world, she must be stronger than ever… because more shocking choices and sacrifices lie ahead.”

I just had to buy this book after reading and very much enjoying Divergent, I couldn’t wait to find out what was next for Tris in this crazy futuristic world.

I loved how it jumped straight into the action and I found myself instantly transported back to where Divergent had left off – amidst danger, fear and confusion.  Tris was struggling to come to terms with recent events and her uncertain future, she had faced so many difficult things and I think some of it had finally started to catch up with her.  Luckily for me there was lots more action to come!

Tris and Tobias’ relationship was tested many times throughout the book, I just couldn’t predict the outcome of their disagreements and I liked this because it kept me on my toes.  I was just as surprised as Tris when an interesting fact about Tobias’ life was revealed and I couldn’t wait to see how it would affect the storyline.

I learned more about the other factions this time and that was something I enjoyed, there was also more information about the Divergent and even the factionless so I felt like I got a better view of the city as a whole.

Tris had to make some big decisions and once again I admired how well she dealt with everything that was thrown at her, I had to keep reminding myself that she was only sixteen!  Whilst she was in a particularly sticky situation I found that I couldn’t figure out if events were real, a simulation or just a dream – my mind was racing with all the possibilities.

There was a big secret that had been mentioned in Divergent and the mystery ran throughout this book too, by the end I was desperate to know exactly what the secret was so when it came to the end and all was revealed I felt a mixture of relief and shock!  The ending was truly amazing, leaving me wanting to read the next book straight away but unfortunately I have to wait for its release in October 2013.

This was another fantastic read with an unpredictable, intense atmosphere and many heart-pounding twists and turns.

Insurgent can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Veronica Roth click on the following links:

Blog | Twitter | Facebook

Please Leave a Comment

