Billy and Me – Giovanna Fletcher

Billy and me

“Sophie May has a secret.

One that she’s successfully kept for years.  It’s meant that she’s had to give up her dreams of going to university and travelling the world to stay in her little village, living with her mum and working in the local teashop.

But then she meets the gorgeous Billy – an actor with ambitions to make it to the top.  And when they fall in love, Sophie is whisked away from the comfort of her life into Billy’s glamorous – but ruthless – world.

Their relationship throws Sophie right into the spotlight after years of shying away from attention.  Can she handle the constant scrutiny that comes with being with Billy?  And most of all, is she ready for her secret heartbreak to be discovered and shared with the nation?”

Firstly I’d like to thank the publishers for sending me this book to read and give an honest review.  I had already read some good reviews for it so I was very excited to get started.

The story began with an introduction to Sophie’s life, it also hinted at something unpleasant from her past and I was just dying to find out what the big secret was.  When I finally did discover what Sophie had been hiding I was surprised because I thought it would be something worse!

I enjoyed reading about the teashop where Sophie worked, from the descriptions I found it so easy to picture the shop in my mind particularly her boss Molly and the elderly customers with their blunt words :).  Speaking of Molly, I absolutely adored her character – she was definitely one of my favourites and I could see why Sophie loved her so much.

When news came that a movie was going to be filmed in the village I was not expecting Sophie’s calm reaction, the rest of the village was super excited but she seemed to be very unenthusiastic about the idea.  However, by the time the film crew arrived Sophie was just as excited as the rest of the village, even though her celebrity crush Jude Law wouldn’t be involved.

Sophie and Billy’s first meeting was cute and really made me smile, I was hooked on their blossoming romance especially after an incredibly romantic first date.  As their relationship progressed and Billy’s career skyrocketed Sophie found herself being thrust into the spotlight and her life changed dramatically, she still managed to hold on to her down-to-earth ways though and this was something I liked.  There were so many of Sophie’s characteristics that I could relate to (mainly her shyness) and I felt rather protective of her so when Billy began acting selfishly I wanted to jump into the book and tell him off on Sophie’s behalf!

There were lots of great moments throughout the book, some of my favourites included the opening performance at the theatre (Sophie got a bit of a shock on that occasion), a confrontation with a rude customer at the coffee shop and a night at the BAFTAs.

The author has a very natural writing style so I found myself flicking through the pages with ease, it ended up being so much more than I had expected (and my expectations were quite high anyway), it was far more emotional than I thought it would be especially towards the end when I had tears pouring down my face!

This was a fantastic read that made me smile, frown and cry – a truly touching story.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Actress and freelance journalist, Giovanna is married to Tom Fletcher from McFly.  She grew up in Essex with her Italian dad Mario, mum Kim, big sister Giorgina and little brother Mario, and spent most of her childhood talking to herself (it seems no one wanted to listen) or reading books.  Giovanna is a firm believer in the power of magpies and positive energy.  She has over 118k followers on Twitter and her blog has over 8000 hits daily.

To find out more about Giovanna Fletcher click on the following links:

Blog | Twitter | Facebook

Billy and Me is published by Penguin Books and can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

8 thoughts on “Billy and Me – Giovanna Fletcher

    1. Thank you for stopping by!

      It wasn’t the actual event that I thought would be worse because I can think of nothing worse than that at any age, it was more about Sophie’s involvement in it – I was thinking all sorts of horrible things so when I found out the truth, that side of it just didn’t seem as awful as I thought it would be. If that makes any sense? It’s difficult to explain without giving too much away 🙂

      Like

Please Leave a Comment

