Love In Darkness – E.M. Tippetts

Love in darkness

“Alex had everything when he was with Madison. But the darkness within him wouldn’t go away. 

After two years apart, he returns to Pelican Bluffs and to the girl he never wanted to leave. Madison wants to give their love another chance, but Alex can’t fight fate. 

He is what he is. 

Ruined. Crazy like his mother. And Madison deserves so much more. When his secrets spill out into their small town, Alex has a choice to make. Hide away in the darkness forever, or let love in.”

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me this eBook to read and give an honest review.  This is the sequel to Castles on the Sand which I read and reviewed here.  I really enjoyed the previous book and have often thought about the story and its characters so when I found out about this sequel I was very keen to read it!

The first few pages confused me a little but I soon realised what was happening and after Alex gave a quick recap of events from the first book I was completely on track.  The story picked up a couple of years after the previous book when Alex was on his mission, he was clearly experiencing some difficulties in his life but Madison (who was on her own mission) seemed to be doing okay.

This time round the story was told from Alex’s point of view, this was something I very much enjoyed but I would have liked to read a few parts from Madison’s perspective because I often wondered what she was thinking.  I learned more about Alex’s mum and her schizophrenia which worryingly was beginning to affect Alex too.  Mental health issues were such a big part of this story, it touched me deeply to read about the struggles facing the characters who were living with these illnesses and their families.  It was very well written – I could almost feel Alex’s emotions (especially during the worst of his terrifying episodes) jumping off the page at me.

I admired Alex’s determination to stay away from Madison but I wasn’t sure if it would last – the whole ‘will they, won’t they’ thing kept me on my toes throughout!  Madison’s friend Kailie surprised me, she hadn’t been a particularly likeable character in the first book but this time I definitely warmed to her.

There was something compelling about this book and I was repeatedly drawn back to it, every time I got a spare moment I found myself picking up my Kindle to read a bit more!

This was a touching and enjoyable story of love against all odds, another great read from E.M. Tippetts.

Love In Darkness will be released on 21 May 2013 and can be purchsed from Amazon USAmazon UKBarnes & Noble, Smashwords and Kobo.

To find out more about E.M. Tippetts click on the following links:

Website | Twitter | Facebook

2 thoughts on “Love In Darkness – E.M. Tippetts

Please Leave a Comment

