Watch Over Me – Daniela Sacerdoti

Watch over me

“Eilidh Lawson’s life is in crisis.  Years of failed fertility treatments, a cheating husband and an oppressive family have pushed her to the limits.  At the end of her tether, she runs away to the one place she thinks she can find solace – her childhood home in the highlands.

There, as she struggles to mend her broken life, she reconnects with her childhood friend Jamie McAnena, who is trying to raise his daughter Maisie alone.  After Maisie’s mother left to pursue a career in London and Jamie’s own mother, Elizabeth, passed away, he has resigned himself to being a family of two.

But sometimes there is more to a story than meets the eye.  Despite their reluctance, curious circumstances keep bringing Jamie and Eilidh together.  For even when it seems all is lost, help can come from the most extraordinary places.”

Firstly I’d like to thank Black & White Publishing for sending me this book to read and give an honest review.  This isn’t the first book I’ve read by this author, I have also read and enjoyed the first two books in The Sarah Midnight Trilogy (reviews here).  I had heard many MANY good things about Watch Over Me so I was very much looking forward to reading it.

Wow, what a powerful prologue!  It was thought-provoking, slightly haunting and completely drew me in so that I just had to find out exactly what happened on that spring night in the woods.

As soon as I read about Eilidh’s struggles to fall pregnant, and the effects it had on her life, I felt incredibly sorry for her.  I knew then that she would be a character that I’d take to my heart and as she ran from the pain I felt glad, I thought it was the right thing for her to do.

When I read Jamie’s story I felt a mixture of emotions, I was shocked that a mother could up and leave her child so easily, sad for what Jamie and Maisie had lost but also happy that they were able to stay together.  He seemed to be a very likeable character and I quickly warmed to him even though there were times that I felt frustrated by his actions, particularly when he didn’t say what he really wanted to.

Then came the twist that made this book so special for me – Elizabeth’s story after her death!  She was Jamie’s late mother and reading about how it broke her heart to leave her family behind brought tears to my eyes.  She raised some great points about motherhood and talked about death in a peaceful kind of way.  The moment she ‘felt’ Eilidh’s distress gave me chills and I enjoyed Elizabeth’s memories of Jamie and Eilidh’s childhood as friends.

As Eilidh and Jamie both tried to rebuild their lives and battle their inner demons, Elizabeth was working behind the scenes to make sure they would find each other again – this was one of my favourite parts of the book and brought a smile to my face every time she intervened.

It wasn’t just the main characters who captured my interest, the author created some fantastic supporting characters who were just as interesting and I really enjoyed following their ups and downs too!  Elizabeth had to be one of my favourite characters though, her words were inspiring and made so much sense, the author had written it so beautifully that I felt like I was actually reading the thoughts of someone who had passed away.

There were a couple of heart-stopping twists and turns towards the end, one in particular that gave me chills and brought tears to my eyes once again.  I found this story so poignant and was completely unable to put the book down – I finished it in just one day.

This was a breathtaking read, it was beautifully written with such an emotional atmosphere, I have a feeling this book will stay in my mind for a long time.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Daniela Sacerdoti was born and raised in Italy but now lives in Glasgow, Scotland.  Daniela holds a degree in Classics from the University of Turin and has taught Italian, Latin and Greek – her great-uncle was the renowned Italian writer Carlo Levi.

Watch Over Me, Daniela’s debut, was released as an eBook in 2011 and has now sold over 150,000 copies.  She is also the author of the paranormal YA trilogy, The Sarah Midnight Trilogy (Dreams/Book 1 and Tide/Book 2) and is working on her second adult novel, also set in Glen Avich.

To find out more about Daniela Sacerdoti click on the following links:

Website | Twitter | Facebook

Watch Over Me was published by Black & White on 18 April 2013 and can be purchased from The Book  DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

10 thoughts on “Watch Over Me – Daniela Sacerdoti

Please Leave a Comment

