The Bow Wow Club – Nicola May

The Bow Wow Club

“In this entertaining sequel to Working it Out Ruby never expected to be starting over… …but after a shocking bereavement, she begins to question whether or not she will ever be happy again.

A chance encounter with handsome author Michael Bell throws her fragile heart into turmoil. Plus, a dark family secret and completely unexpected love interest add to her confusion. Encouraged to face her demons, she volunteers at the Bow Wow Club – (Boyfriends of Widows, Wives of Widowers).

You will laugh and cry along with a myriad of eccentric characters as Ruby searches for her inner peace. But will she let love win? Or allow her past to continue to haunt her?”

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me this eBook to read and give an honest review.  I was so excited to hear that Working It Out (review here) was getting a sequel, Ruby was a great character and I was looking forward to catching up with her.

From reading the blurb I knew something bad had happened in Ruby’s life and I had a pretty good idea what it was going to be.  The prologue confirmed my suspicions and I knew it wouldn’t be long before I was crying.  Boy was I right – I just couldn’t stop the tears from falling as I read the devastating scene.

Getting past the tears, I was pleased to see that Fi was her usual whirlwind self as she tried to coax Ruby into having some kind of life.  There was a real sense of fun whenever she was around and she was definitely a good (depending how you looked at it) influence on Ruby.  I was thrilled that Tony Choi made a couple of appearances, he was such a memorable character from the previous book and he made me laugh just as much as he did before!

An unfortunate incident led Ruby to the wannabe author Michael Bell and when I got to read from his perspective I was excited by what I read.  Things moved surprisingly quickly after that and it all seemed too good to be true, to be honest I started to think that Michael was a bit stalker-like.  His book painted a confusing picture to begin with and I was desperate to find out the truth behind it.  I laughed when he couldn’t decide whether certain words would be considered too rude for the book he was writing as I could picture writers in the real world facing the same dilemma :).  Obviously this means that the story contains some swearing and scenes of a sexual nature so be warned.

Ruby’s first visit to the Bow Wow Club was great, the crazy group of characters were so entertaining particularly Simon Dye who ended up being one of my favourite characters!  Later on there was an exciting twist in the form of Harry Bowman-Green and this brought out a whole new side to the storyline that I hadn’t expected.

The author wrote about grief, and all the other feelings that go along with it, in a sensitive and honest way – there were times when I could almost feel Ruby’s emotions rolling off the page at me.  Although this book could probably be read as a standalone read I would recommend reading Working It Out first, just so that you have a full picture of the characters and their history.

This was a fab one-day read that took me on a rollercoaster ride of emotions, I would definitely recommend it!

The Bow Wow Club is due to be released on 14 May 2013 and can be pre-ordered from Amazon.

To find out more about Nicola May click on the following links:

Website | Twitter | Facebook

Please Leave a Comment

