Night School Legacy – C.J. Daugherty

Legacy

“In the last year, Allie has survived three arrests, two breakups and one family meltdown.  The only bright point has been her new life at Cimmeria Academy.  It’s the one place Allie feels she belongs.  And the fact that it’s brought the dreamy Carter West into her life hasn’t hurt.

But far from being a safe haven, the cloistered walls of Cimmeria are proving more dangerous than Allie could’ve imagined.  The students are under threat and Allie’s family – from her mysterious grandma to her runaway brother – are at the centre of the storm.

Allie is going to have to choose between protecting her family and trusting her friends.  But secrets have a way of ripping even the strongest relationships apart…”

I bought this book after reading the first book Night School (review here) and absolutely loving it, this was a book that I was very keen to read!

It had an exciting start with Allie being chased by some scary guys and I was intrigued as to how she had gotten into such a serious situation.  When all was explained I realised that the danger from the previous book was quickly spilling into this one (just what I want as a reader, thank you very much!).

When Allie eventually returned to Cimmeria there was a lot going on as the big clean up, after the fire, was well under way.  I was looking forward to her reunion with Carter and also with Sylvain as I sensed she was starting to warm to him again at the end of the first book.  Speaking of the two guys in her life, the whole Allie/Carter/Sylvain love triangle was even more interesting this time round, Allie was extremely confused about her feelings and I have to admit that I fully understand why – normally I have an opinion on who a character should choose but this time I just couldn’t decide.

I learned a bit more about the mysterious Lucinda and I feel like I’m now building a better picture of who she really is.  There was also a lot more information about Night School itself as I followed Allie during her introduction to the exclusive group.  Part of this introduction saw Allie partnered with Zoe who was small but very strong, I wasn’t too keen on her to begin with but she soon grew on me with her innocent mind and passion for kicking things :D.  I found myself smiling at her reaction to the magpie she spotted – I too am rather superstitious about the magpie poem so this was something I could relate to.

I loved the humour that ran throughout the book, it was a great way of lightening some of the more serious moments.  There were a lot of trust issues going on with quite a few lies being told and this was something that kept me on the edge of my seat as I was reading – I was wondering who could and couldn’t be trusted, who was lying and if their lies would be discovered.

The ending was fantastic and sad all at the same time, I was utterly gripped by the events that led to the last page.  This was another one-day read for me and I felt so upset when I read the final words because I didn’t want it to end!  Needless to say I’m looking forward to the next book :).

This was another amazing read filled with excitement, danger, laughs and a sprinkling of love.  A perfect all-rounder.

Night School Legacy can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about C.J. Daugherty click on the following links:

Website | Facebook | Twitter

2 thoughts on “Night School Legacy – C.J. Daugherty

Please Leave a Comment

