The Other Side – Terry Tyler

The Other Side

“Decision time. Left or right? Mr X, or Mr Y?

Imagine being able to find out what would happen if you’d chosen the other path…  Would you make the same decision?

…and, if you could, would you go back and change all the mistakes you’ve ever made in the name of love?

Glamorous Katya is certain she can “have it all”, but forgets that some people have long memories…

Cathy is trapped in a tedious marriage with the in-laws from hell – but why did the rock-chick marry Mr Pipe and Slippers?

Alexa fears that a ‘friend’ is trying to steal away her perfect life – everyone dismisses her fears as paranoia…

…while Sandie struggles with a drink problem and life spiralling downwards – but which came first, the drink or the problem?

Four very different stories – but they are all connected.”

I was lucky enough to win this eBook from a giveaway on Sooz’s Journal.  After reading and enjoying You Wish (review here) by the same author I was looking forward to starting.

The characters involved in this story all had issues that were troubling them, their lives had taken a wrong turn at some point and as I was taken back in time (something I loved because it was very different) I was able to piece everything together.  It highlighted the choices people make and how those choices can affect the rest of their lives – I found it fascinating to think back on some of my own choices and imagine how different my life might be if I had taken a different path.  I’m pretty sure everyone has thought about this at some point in their life.

There were times when I found it difficult to remember who was who because there was so much going on – concentration was definitely needed whilst reading this book.

An interesting twist came along later in the story which made me think back to everything I had already read and look at it all from a whole new perspective, this was great because I really hadn’t expected it!

The author tackled real life issues with ease, I think most people would be able to relate to someone or something in this story and that is what made it so interesting.  The epilogue was fantastic because it wrapped everything up beautifully and I finished the book with a smile.

This was a clever book that really got me thinking, another enjoyable read from Terry Tyler.

The Other Side is available to buy from Amazon UK or Amazon US.

To find out more about Terry Tyler click on the following links:

Blog | Twitter | Facebook

8 thoughts on “The Other Side – Terry Tyler

  1. Thanks so much for that lovely review, Kate! I know it takes a bit of concentration to read – the continuity was a nightmare when i was writing it! I think Sooz said in her review of it that it’s not a book just to be picked up and read a chapter or so of every other day, but one to read in lengthy sittings; I think I was aware of that when i was writing it but couldn’t make it any less so without making it trite! I’m really glad you liked it, anyway; my idea was that the stories could be enjoyed almost individually, anyway, and that seems to have worked for you and others (phew!). I am also pleased you like the way it went backwards in time ~ that was a risk, too! But I’ve always adored flashbacks in novels, to understand what bought the character to that point in time, and I’ve wanted to do this for ages!

    My other novels are more straightforward (ha ha!) – if you would like any of them to review at some point in the future, just let me know and I’ll send you review copies

    Terry x

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

