Monument 14 – Emmy Laybourne

Monument 14

“Fourteen kids stranded inside a superstore. Inside they have everything they could ever need. There’s junk food and clothes, computer games and books, drugs and alcohol … and without adult supervision they can do whatever they want.
Sounds like fun? 

But outside the world is being ripped apart by violent storms and chemicals leaking into the atmosphere that, depending on blood type, leave victims paranoid, violent or dead. 

The kids must remain inside, forced to create their own community, unsure if they’ll ever be able to leave. Can they stop the world they’ve created inside from self-destructing too?”

Firstly I’d like to thank Hachette for sending me this book to read and give an honest review.  I really liked the sound of it (I guess the idea of being locked in a superstore appealed to me :)) and I couldn’t wait to get started.

The action started quickly with a massive hail storm causing problems for two school buses and the kids who were passengers.  The kids who survived the ordeal were forced to seek shelter in a superstore – this was just the beginning of a crazy, scary adventure that would affect their lives forever.

As the group settled into life in the store they discovered through an old TV in the media department just what was happening in the outside world, it was at this point that they realised they were in the best place.  Natural disasters and a serious chemical leak added the fear factor and excitement to the storyline, I was completely hooked!

The characters were a blend of ages with various social standings and backgrounds yet in the face of disaster they managed to make things work.  I loved reading about how they made the store habitable, I could visualise it all so clearly especially the sleeping area :).  The map of the superstore inside the front page also helped me picture the layout in my mind and I found myself turning back to it whenever I wanted to refresh my memory.

I was mesmerised by this crazy world that the group of kids found themselves in, part of me was really excited by the whole idea and the other part just felt scared for them all – it created a mixture of emotions within me.

I couldn’t stop reading this fantastic story and finished it in less than a day, I think it would make a great movie!  The ending was really unexpected and left me wanting more, I can’t wait for the next book Sky on Fire to be released!

This was a fast-paced read that kept me on the edge of my seat, I would definitely recommend it.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

Emmy Laybourne is an American novelist and a former character actress. She appeared as an actress in the movies Superstar and The In-Laws, the NBC series DAG and Comedy Central’s Premium Blend among others. Her debut novel Monument 14 was a NY Times Editor’s Choice and received a starred review in Publisher’s Weekly. Emmy lives in upstate NY, with her husband, their two children and a feisty, slightly judgmental bearded dragon named Goldie.

To find out more about Emmy Laybourne click on the following links:

Website | Twitter

Monument 14 is published on 4 April 2013 by Hodder Children’s Books and can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

5 thoughts on “Monument 14 – Emmy Laybourne

Please Leave a Comment

