The Accidental Husband – Jane Green

The Accidental Husband

“Maggie and Sylvie are perfect strangers: two very different women, living very different lives on opposite coasts. But they share more in common than they could ever imagine. 

Both women have beautiful children on the verge of flying the nest, the home they worked hard to build and always longed for, and a handsome and devoted husband they can’t believe belongs to them. Both women think their lives are seamlessly secure, but they couldn’t be more wrong . . .

For each is about to discover a secret that will shake their world to the very core, throwing into doubt everything they ever thought they knew, and bringing Maggie and Sylvie together in the most unexpected way.”

Firstly I’d like to thank Penguin UK for sending me this book to read and give an honest review.

Part one began with Sylvie, it detailed her life in a very powerful way and this meant that I quickly felt close to her character.  From reading the blurb I had a good idea where the storyline was headed so when Sylvie was describing Mark as a wonderful, faithful husband I admit that I felt a bit sceptical.

Sylvie’s daughter Eve had some serious issues going on and I thought the author had written this particularly well because she made me feel desperately sad for the troubled teenager – I just wanted to reach into the book and give her a hug!  Eve played a big part in the story and it was when she took a trip to New York that everything got really complicated, this turned out to be the beginning of a whole new chapter for everyone concerned.

Next I was introduced to Maggie and again I found her to be a likeable character, when the mayhem began I was on the edge of my seat wondering how she was going to cope with the life that faced her.  I was fascinated by the whole idea and simply couldn’t imagine how a person would feel after receiving news of that nature.

The aftermath was a difficult time for everyone and outlined perfectly how one persons actions can have such a devastating effect on so many lives.  I must confess that following the characters as they attempted to rebuild their lives was my favourite part of the book because it was just so inspiring!

Although I had pretty much predicted the direction of the storyline before I had even started the book I still somehow found myself glued to the pages, I just couldn’t put it down.  I admired the way that the author dealt with difficult subjects, particularly the eating disorder – it was shocking to read but a very important part of the story in my opinion and it really opened my eyes to the illness.

This was an engaging book with well written characters who were easy to connect with, I will definitely be reading more from this author.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jane Green’s first book ‘Straight Talking’ is credited with sparking a revolution in women’s literature when it was published sixteen years ago.  Hailed as the voice of a new generation of women, Jane was writing about twenty-something women who were single, solvent and very independent.  She filled a chasm in contemporary women’s fiction, brushing aside the aspirational bonkbusters of the time to speak to women in a real way.

Now in her forties, Jane’s work continues to set her apart from all the rest.  Her writing has grown and changed with her, whilst still retaining a realism and emotional honesty which is rare in the genre.

She’s one of only a handful of women’s fiction authors that regularly gets reviews in both the broadsheet press and tabloid papers.  All thirteen of her novels have been huge top ten bestsellers, she’s sold over 2.5 million copies in the UK alone.  Jane is one of the few English women’s fiction authors to make it in America, where she is also a guaranteed bestseller.

Recently married for the second time, she is now Jane Green Warburg, and lives in Connecticut with her husband Ian Warburg and their blended family of six children.

For more information about the author visit her website, like on Facebook or follow on Twitter

The Accidental Husband is published by Michael Joseph and can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

4 thoughts on “The Accidental Husband – Jane Green

  1. I’m reading this at the moment Kate and agree with you … despite knowing where the book is heading, I am so involved with the characters that it feels as if I’m living it! Another fab review 🙂 x

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

