The Cordello Quest – Joanna Gawn and Ron Dickerson

The Cordello Quest

“Keira — just your average young woman who’s suddenly transported to another world without even a change of clothes.

Jason — her boyfriend, whose life is about to be shaken up in ways he could never have imagined.

Lord Charls — the Cordellan lord desperate to secure the precious resource that is lovelight.

When daily life becomes the stuff of legends, when rivals are readying for war, when you don’t know if you’ll ever get home to your own world . . . what do you do? Who can you trust?”

Firstly I’d like to thank Joanna Gawn for sending me this eBook to read and give an honest review.  This is the first book in The Lazuli Portals Trilogy with the second book Mosaic of Light currently being written.

The action started pretty quickly – one minute Keira and her boyfriend Jason were having a not-so-romantic midnight picnic with Jason getting rather drunk, and the next Keira had wandered off and experienced what I can only describe as an intense and bizarre spiritual event.  This turned out to be just the beginning of a beautiful yet dangerous journey for Keira and I found her acceptance of the situation she was in particularly admirable, especially when she had no idea where she was or why she was there.

Charls was an intriguing character and with him looking just like Jason Keira was quick to trust him.  He introduced Keira to the amazing world of Cordello and its lovelight energy which seemed to be something that others coveted.  It was at this point that Keira discovered her purpose in Cordello and although she didn’t know the details of how she would complete her quest, she felt confident that she would be shown the way.  As the story progressed she faced challenge after challenge and each time I felt concern for Keira and her new Cordellan friends.

I felt connected to many of the words in the book but there was a particular moment near the beginning when Keira said that she had switched off her worry circuit and I just loved this saying – being a worrier myself I’ve often wished that I could stop worrying and thought that this was a lovely way of describing it (one I will definitely use in the future).

When the story first switched to Jason’s point of view I was pleased to get a clearer impression of his character, he knew that he had acted badly by drinking too much and as he went to look for Keira he was unaware that his own adventure was just about to begin!

I was very curious about Charls and Keira’s friendship, there were times when I thought that they were just really good friends but then I’d be sure that there was a hint of something more and with Jason still hanging around on the other side I wasn’t sure what to think.

After many ups, downs, twists and turns, which left me feeling as exhausted as Keira, the epilogue came along and made me think about the next portal and what might be discovered there – I’m looking forward to finding out!

The whole book had a calm, peaceful feel to it and I think that most of this was attributed to the clear and precise writing style.  I loved the detailed descriptions because they made me feel like I was actually there alongside Keira on her quest.  I also loved how this wasn’t just an enjoyable fantasy story, it was full of deep meaning and self-awareness which I could translate into my own life.  I felt empowered whilst reading this book and took away a feeling of positivity that was much-needed after a shaky start to the year for my family and myself.

This was an imaginative read interspersed with spirituality and thought-provoking ideas, this is definitely a story that will stay with me.

The Cordello Quest is available as an eBook from Amazon UK or Amazon US.  The paperback can be purchased from Amazon UK, Amazon US, The Book Depository and Waterstones.

To find out more about The Lazuli Portals and the authors visit the website, blog, Twitter or Facebook.

8 thoughts on “The Cordello Quest – Joanna Gawn and Ron Dickerson

Please Leave a Comment

